Cádiz


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Cádiz
January 27th 2008
Published: January 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yesturday morning, a group of about 25 from our program hopped on a train to Cádiz at 11am. The bus ride was about an hour and a 1/2 and when we got there we went straight to our hostel to check in. Hahaha you would not believe this place we stayed in. I couldn´t believe they fit our whole group. The owner of the place was from England i think and most of the other employees were from english-speaking countries. (austrailia, new zealand, u.s.... and more)... after checking in, we headed to the beach for the day. It was beautiful out... but the water was freeeezing. we stopped at a cheap grocery store on the way (very similar to aldi´s) for some food to eat lunch on the beach. we met some locals on the beach who were playing their guitars... mostly american music, lots of oldies ....they were extremely talented. that was a lot of fun. when the sun started going down we headed back to the hostel to get ready for dinner and found a cute little outside restaurant nearby. After that we went out for about an hour and everyone decided they needed to take an hour nap before continuing with the rest of the night. We went back, but I wasn´t tired so I hung out with and met the staff. They were all really interesting. At about 1am about 1/2 the group was up for going out again, and the rest stayed sleeping. I went out, but me and 2 other girls ended up heading home at 230ish when everyone else stayed out. There were about 5 sets of bunk beds in each room... and trying to sleep in that hostel was hilarious. There are 5 girls on the trip from the same sorority at the university of indiana, and one of the girls, Cody (yes that´s right)... was cracking me up. I´m pretty sure she´s never stayed in anything less than a Hilton and here we are in this cramped hostel were there is music blasting and beds that she "thought" she could contract a disease in from looking at. hahah.... it really wasn´t bad though. I thought the place was cute and definitly what I expected when signing up to stay in a 16€/night hostel. Anyway, Cody spent the night texting her mom on her blackberry telling her how horrible it was, and I
After dinner in CádizAfter dinner in CádizAfter dinner in Cádiz

We saw some little boys playing soccer in the street... so I took some pictures and this little guy wanted to be in a close-up with Leah and me.
was cracking up. In the morning we left as soon as we could check out... 10am. The ride home was short...I slept the whole way. When I got home I watched some Spanish news on TV with Maria Eva and wrote some letters. Now Beth and I are at an internet café and dinner is at 830 and I cannot wait. Classes again tomorrow... and I think an easy going night tonight. Adios! miss you all!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The bathroomThe bathroom
The bathroom

On the roof of our hostel
La playa!La playa!
La playa!

The beach in Cádiz


29th January 2008

cody
i love cody....i would crack up at her all the time!!!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb