Slovenia at last


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola
June 29th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've wanted to visit Slovenia for years.
It lived up to my dreams and more.
I only had a few days to spare between Venice and meeting up with Brent and Shona in Milan so I decided to bypass the cities and just go straight to the Julian Alps.
I caught the train to Gorizia on the border and then a bus across to the station at Nova Gorica where I caught another train up to Bohinjska Bistrica in the Bohinj valley. It's a longer but far cheaper way than catching a train direct from Venice to Ljubljana then up to the National Park.

I opted to stay in the Bohinj valley, wilder and a bit more remote than Bled, and a lot less touristed.
I camped at the far end of Lake Bohinj, in Ukanc, 11km from Bohinjska Bistrica. My campsite was part of an official camp ground but I'd chosen a discounted area and put my tent well back in the woods, but still within sight of the water. It was beautiful and quiet and I had the use of the showers and a dry place to sit at the cafe there; useful, as it rained every day I was there.

But the dampness of my time there didn't dampen my enthusiasm. I walked alot, around the lake in the rain, on the mountains above the lake in the brief morning of sun I had on the third day (I caught a gondola up a vertical kilometer and then walked a couple of hours up to the summit of Mt Sija where I watched storm clouds rolling in over the mountain tops... I walked, quickly, back down again with thunder at my heels but in the sunshine all the way). I went to Lake Bled for a day which was as pretty as I'd imagined. I walked through Vintgar gorge which was spectacularly green and lush and the rain didn't matter at all.

I drank a lot of green tea.

When the time came to head back to Italy I didn't feel deprived, just completely relaxed and peaceful.
It was perfect.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Lake BledLake Bled
Lake Bled

it really was this colour
View from Mt SijaView from Mt Sija
View from Mt Sija

looking south, away from Bohinj
Looking up at Mt Sija in the backgroundLooking up at Mt Sija in the background
Looking up at Mt Sija in the background

from the ski centre, 1822m a.s.l


5th July 2009

You are a very gifted young lady. And I so enjoy you diaries

Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 24; qc: 75; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb