Back to Bratislava


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Bratislava Region
October 3rd 2009
Published: October 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, after just a few weeks I'm heading back to Bratislava. It will probably only be for a few days and because I don't know exactly what to expect, I've decided to travel early so I can be raedy bright and early on Monday morning. Plus, it gives me a chance to get there by a slightly different route and take a quick look at Vienna along the way. I noticed last time that there are three ways to get from Vienna to Bratislava: bus, train or boat. The bus is fast and easy from Vienna airport (but I've done that before). So, how about the ferry? Well, there are two - a slow boat and a shiny new hydrofoil. Surprise surprise, I chose the latter.

It's called the Twin City Liner and takes 75 minutes from central Vienna to the edge of the old town in Bratislava. The off peak one-way fare is just 17 Euros so not much more than the other options. Easyjet was spot on time as usual (tempting fate, I know) then a 30 minute train and metro ride to the riverside.

The journey isn't too picturesque - nothing wrong, just nothing special. Arriving into Bratislava is probably the prettiest bit with the castle perched high on the hill overlooking the river and the town. From the landing stage it was just a 10 minute walk to my hotel, even dragging a wheelie suitcase over the cobbles. Once you get the hang of it, it's almost impossible to get lost in that part of town. Just use the castle as a reference and follow your nose.

Slight problems at the hotel (Michalska Brana) where they tell me my reservation has been cancelled. Seems like no-one can explain why but they did have a cancellation e-mail from the company travel agent. Who of course denied all knowledge! Note to self: book with Expedia next time........

I was impressed with the hotel last time but if I have to go back to the city, I'll be looking for a new place to stay. Two things really spoiled the visit:


* cost of the laundry. Probably cheaper to leave it all behind and buy new from M&S when you get home!
* the restaurant was closed every night and the bar had no beer. Perhaps I'm old fashioned but I don't really see the point of a bar with no beer.


It's a shame because the location is superb but fortunately food is not an issue - there must be 100 restaurants and bars within walking distance. And after a large dinner and a couple of beers, nothing better than a bit of healthy exercise: just 15 minutes uphill all the way to the castle.

Not much more to say! It's a pleasant place to visit but after a couple of days in the city it's time to move on again.........

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb