Oh, Brati...


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Bratislava Region » Bratislava
November 12th 2006
Published: November 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday some friends of mine and I trekked over to Bratislava (in Slovakia - it is only an hour-long train ride.) It was a nice excursion for nine euros round-trip, and we saw some interesting Soviet Block era buildings... haha, seriously, the skyline is all level. The cube-shaped buildings are just so stereotypical.
We went to the castle and looked at the old artifacts and had two amazing meals for the price of probably a couple cups of coffee in Vienna.
There are two parts of Bratislava - the "Old City" and the "New City" and we stayed on the Old City side where there were pretty buildings, and the castle, etc. But looking across the Danube, we could see the New City skyline, as well as way off in the distance, Austria! It was pretty cool to be able to see Austria from Slovakia.
The only drawback was that early in the day, I jumped down from a step or something, and my foot twisted around in a way feet shouldn't twist, and I heard and felt a loud *Pop*, and could barely walk the rest of the day. The swelling was really weird to watch - part of my foot got all puffy like a marshmallow, so it was fun to press on it and feel how soft a foot is capable of making itself 😊 But oh man, it hurt SO bad. And I wasn't about to go to some random Slovakian doctor and try and explain what happened. So when I got back here to the dorm, I got a towel wet and froze it (since we don't have ice) and that helped bring down the swelling a little. And I slept with my foot on a couple pillows for elevation, and when I got up this morning, I actually felt like I could walk on it without wanting to cry. It still hurts and I'm still limping a little, but I think it's a lot less serious than I was afraid it was.
And now, picture time!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Dan and KatieDan and Katie
Dan and Katie

At lunch waiting for their salmon... and chicken (I think Dan got chicken)
The cubesThe cubes
The cubes

See what I mean about the skyline?? Oh, and I love that river.
A bunch of golden artifacts from the 3rd and 4th century B.C.A bunch of golden artifacts from the 3rd and 4th century B.C.
A bunch of golden artifacts from the 3rd and 4th century B.C.

It cost about the equivalent of 70 cents to get into this museum! And it was pretty cool.
In the castleIn the castle
In the castle

I liked the doorways in the castle
Cool violins!Cool violins!
Cool violins!

There was a section in the museum of really old instruments. I wish I'd taken a picture of the viola d'amore, one of my very favorite string instruments, which Hindemith wrote some good music for. I wish those were still around!
The Chinese clothing exhibitThe Chinese clothing exhibit
The Chinese clothing exhibit

This made me really want to go to China. There were also some beautiful pictures taken in China that were displayed.
I am not sure what these areI am not sure what these are
I am not sure what these are

We joked that these could be old Druid ruins. But they probably aren't anything special - they just looked cool.


13th November 2006

thank you!
Hi Grandmama~ I'm glad to hear Mom's having a good time, and Dana too. Thank you for your comment. I actually wish I'd taken a few more pictures, but oh well. I might go back to Bratislava once more to explore the New City and a little more of the Old City area. It is cheap, so it's definitely doable. My foot is feeling better as the day goes on - I didn't walk that much on it today, which was probably a good thing. I have always had the misconception that walking on it was good for it, to keep circulation.. or something, but I keep being told not to walk on it much, and am glad I didn't. Yesterday walking all over Bratislava was difficult, so I should have realized that it would get better as soon as I rested it for awhile. Anyway, I hope you are having a nice weekend. Has it snowed in CO?
13th November 2006

Maybe your leaping days are over . . .
. . . or at least you'll be forced to move a little more slowly for awhile. I'm reading this blog from the Atlanta airport (internet kiosk) where I have to wait almost 4 hours for a plane to MPLS. Well, not a bad price to pay for a bargain fantastic trip to Baltimore and D.C. Dana spoiled me rotten; I saw everything and everyone I hoped to, plus more. Take care of that foot, you hear! More later . . . love, Mom (Dana gave me the Mozart chocolate balls :)
14th November 2006

I will keep leaping. And hurting my stupid foot!
haha I hope you liked the Mozart balls!
22nd November 2006

About time for some more blog entries???
One would think :) Please?

Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0904s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb