Briefly in Belgrade


Advertisement
Europe » Serbia » West » Belgrade
July 12th 2007
Published: July 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Flying old skooly I had a cheap flight with JAT airlines, I had manually printed tickets that I had to collect, the plane was old and rickety, but with tonnes of leg room and free food! As soon as I hopped off the plane it was like a heat wave, beautiful! Just what I needed to escape the most abysmal summer in London that anyone can remember.

Headed straight to my hostel for a cool beer and a chat with some locals, I ended up going out that night with them for a few drinks and a swim at a man made lake. The girls here really know how to look after themselves and its true what they say about the eastern europeans, some absolute stunners to be seen!

I only really had one day in Belgrade to check it out so put on my power walking jandels and headed out, to the War Museum where I really started to understand how war has always been a part of their lives. A Serbian guy on my flight mentioned that they always said there hasnt been a single generation there that hasnt seen war at some time. Quite scary but they are quite philisophical about it.

The war museum was part of the old Fortress on the hill which is quite impressive, and with awesome views. Luckily for me they also had an outdoor photo exhibition with some amazing shots from all over the world. I also wandered past the government buildings at to the church which was huge.

I managed to win an easy bet with one of the girls working at the hostel and snaked myself a home cooked Serbian meal that evening and was pretty tuckered out from a big day so had an early night in preparation for Exit.

Wednesday morning I took the time to check out the Nikolai Tesla museum, (he's the guy that basically invented AC power transimission) and as a Serb they are quite proud of him. Unfortunately the museum was a bit lacking but still had some cool demonstrations etc. Very smart man and the world wouldn't be what it is today without him, to quote the NYC mayor after his death he was "a feather in the cap of humanity"

In the afternoon it was time to saddle up and get my bus to Novi Sad for Exit! Woot!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 89; dbt: 0.0809s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb