Church Pictures


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia
September 23rd 2006
Published: September 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Church1Church1Church1

The church in the town of Christmas near the plant.
After work I went to Moscow for dinner for something different to do. I went to Red Way that I thought was so good last time and was very disappointed this time. I think they have been bought or under new management because the menu had changed, no English menus, the wait staff was terrible. The manager spoke Russian and French with some English so she was helpful, but not the same as my last waiter I had there. The music was still good, but it just was not the same.

On the way to Moscow, my driver found a back way into that village where the Church is located that I love so much. The town's name is "Christmas" if you translate it to English and there are is one paved road that you can get to from the highway, but it is still dirt once you get into the town near the church so I walked. I took my 35mm film camera as well as my digital. My film camera told me I had plenty of pictures left and to no surprise, I had two so I hope they are good and I can blow them up and take them to Don and Tracy for framing...lol But here are some of the digital ones. I honestly like the church from a distance better, but it is just amazing and I do not know what it is, but I have fallen in love with the building.

I am heading to Moscow again today to do some Christmas shopping so if anyone needs anything, just let me know...lol The weather is suppose to be sunny and in the 70's! A great day to be walking the outdoor markets and not the one I got lost in last time...lol Have a great weekend.

Oh, before I forget, I bought my tickets to come home so I will be visiting my parents in Ohio the last part of October then flying to Atlanta on Thursday, 01 Nov. I plan to stop by WF to see all of you on Thursday afternoon. I will probably hang out in Malin's area and/or the breakroom so please plan to stop by and say hello. For all of my non-WF friends, let's plan to get together on Friday evening after work or Saturday during the day. I fly back to Moscow on Sunday.

Thank you again for all of the notes, postings, emails, and care packages. They have meant a lot to me.

Vince


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Apartment BuildingApartment Building
Apartment Building

This building may not house any more than some of our high rises, but it is amazing at the size of this building. This is only a third of it as it wraps around and forms a "c". This was near the metro stop that I now go to when I want to go into Moscow, but do not want to make my driver fight that horrible traffic.


23rd September 2006

I can see why you've fallen in love with this church, it is absolutely gorgeous! Sorry I won't be in Georgia when you return, would love to see you. Maybe next time as I'm planning a trip probably sometime through the holidays. Take care.
27th September 2006

You're pretty good with that digital camera! The church in shadow with the sun behind it is terrific. Lovely place. I can send you some baking supplies. My mom will have a lot of it and she has extra pans, etc. We're big bakers in my family so we know what you need.
1st October 2006

Thank you!
I still do not know what it is about that church, but I love looking at it every morning coming to work. It just stands out and pictures just do not do it justice. I am slowly finding most of the things I need to cook, but no Crisco here so having some "imported" in with one of the consultants that is coming next week. I will try to make a pie shell with butter but Crisco works so much better. I will probably bring my candy thermometer and pastry cutter back with me to also help. I was never good with dropping hot candy in a cup of cold water and knowing if it was soft, hard, etc. ball. I loved your pictures from Alaska!

Tot: 0.513s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0804s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb