Praise the Lord, I was pick-pocketed!


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia
December 5th 2008
Published: December 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

MoscowMoscowMoscow

Christmas Tree in front of the State Museum at Red Square.
No, my blog title is not a joke. This evening as I was returning from spending the afternoon with my classmates (4 from Korea, 1 from Turkey) I was pick-pocketed. I have been extremely careful when on the Metro and about town to keep this from happening. Here is what happened. We had just finished having dinner at Red Square and we decided to head back to the dorms. I had used my last Metro pass to get to Red Square so I had to buy a new one before we could get into the Metro. I paid and placed my wallet back into my front pocket (as suggested to keep theives from having easy access. On top of keeping it here, when I am in tight places I always keep my hand in my pocket as well. Tonight was not exception. However, in the hustle and bustle of the evening rush we were being pushed into the train car and I took my hand out for just a split second to adjust my bag and when I put it back in it was gone. It literally happend in two or three seconds!

Thankfully, there was only about ten or
MoscowMoscowMoscow

GUM - State Department Store during Soviet Times (Goom) is lit up at night.
fifteen dollars in cash but they got my debit card and all of my Oklahoma and ID's. The problem is that my debit card was my only form of currency while I am here. Without it I cannot access my funds in my checking accout. I immediately called my bank and they canceled the card before there were more severe problems, but it will be several weeks before I'll get the new one here. They have to send it to my parents who in turn will have to send it to me via DHL. Its not the end of the world, just frustrating because its already difficult to live here and this just adds a new dimension to everything.

After it happend all I could think about was the scripture that says, "In everything give thanks!" So, that is what I am doing. The devil is probably surprised by my response, but I praise God even in the midst of this! Yeojung, the Korean girl in my class, said she was surprised how calm I was. There is nothing I can do so why get upset about it. It would benefit noone, especially me. So, today adds another story
MoscowMoscowMoscow

Christmas Tree in Red Square in front of St. Basil's Cathedral.
to my adventure.

Before I go I will share some pics from our trip to Red Square today. It was dusk and they had the Christmas trees lit up. It was really beautiful and made it feel like Christmas.

Keep me in your prayers. We are meeting lots of people and making so many contacts that it is unreal. I know God is allowing us to cross paths with these people to influence their lives and share the gospel with them. Everyday is exciting.

Until next blog...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

MoscowMoscow
Moscow

This is my Korean friends (I can't spell all their names) and Tooba (from Turkey, in white coat) at Red Square. Sorry for the blurriness, I was having problems with my camera.
MoscowMoscow
Moscow

St. Basil's Cathedral at night is really pretty.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb