Russia Will Never Be the Same


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia
October 2nd 2007
Published: October 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

How Long Are You Staying?How Long Are You Staying?How Long Are You Staying?

We looked crazy trying to get 6 suitcases and 4 duffle bags plus 5 guys all in this poor Kia. Thank goodness it was not my old Opel. I also have to admit, a few of the bags were mine and two of the suitcases were bringing me things so it was not all theirs...lol
I am still recovering from a great visit from three great American friends who came to visit me here in Russia, Ricky, Jamie and Mark! We had 10 days full of fun, touring, and a little (okay a lot - I had to show them the way to drink vodka...lol) of drinking. There was a lot to see and do while they were here so we kept the candle burning on both ends trying to get it all done.

There are too many stories to tell, but I will post a few pictures of the many things we did, but in summary, they arrived a week ago Friday and left on Sunday. No bad experiences and I want to again thank each of them for taking the time and spending the money to come visit. It means a lot to me for all of you to experience Russia whether through my blog or in person. I know all of my friends I have made here in Russia also enjoy meeting my American friends. Oh, and we could not have asked for better weather. Actually, we could have used shorts a few days, but that was a lot better than needing
In the MetroIn the MetroIn the Metro

We lost track of time at dinner at the Sky Lounge so we raced to the metro to get home before it closed down for the night.
a winter coat and not having one. The leaves were almost in full color with cool evenings and warm days. It was perfect!




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Red SquareRed Square
Red Square

This was the first time I have been on Red Square at night and it was awesome. It looks very different and glad they all wanted to go.
Party at Alexander'sParty at Alexander's
Party at Alexander's

This was one of the guys we met on the cruise back in January. I have been to his house a few times (he lives in Moscow) so he invited us all to his place for a small party and introduced Mark to vodka (straight), who usually only drinks rum and Coke. Ricky stayed back and enjoyed a few museums since he did not know Alexander and wanted to do more museums than the rest of us.
Triumphal ArchTriumphal Arch
Triumphal Arch

Sight seeing operator "Kramer" at your service...lol
Party at the Horse ShoeParty at the Horse Shoe
Party at the Horse Shoe

I had a party at the Horse Shoe for them with about 20 people there and plenty of vodka. We had a good time, maybe too good of time because the Cafe had to shut down due to the noise, but that noise was not all from us, it was a wonderful evening and they were very busy even without us.
All Great Things Must Come to an EndAll Great Things Must Come to an End
All Great Things Must Come to an End

Misha took our picture outside of my flat as we must stay good bye. Thanks again for a great visit!


2nd October 2007

awww Vodka Yummy
Vince it is us who needs to thank you and all of your friends, I had a Great time, well other than the times I dont rember due to VODKA... so I will have to relay on you to tell me about then again maybe I dont need to know..LOL This was my first trip out of the USA and WOW did you all make it a time to rember. so Thank everyone very much for me. :-) Mark
3rd October 2007

I don't know about you guys
Sounds like you guys had toooooo much fun. Glad they got to come to Russia and spend a few days with you.
4th October 2007

Oh yeeaaaahhhhh ! =)
Thank you, Vince, for organization of the party! Thank you, guys, for coming Russia and having fun with us ["Obninsk bandits"] in Horseshoe. We are waiting for you come back as soon as it possible! And thank you, Vince's mom, for your son and our good friend! ;)

Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0941s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb