The End


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia
March 17th 2007
Published: March 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Wow. As I sit here in my study, typing this, I look back on my hectic day and just yawn. I firslty want to tell you about my food experiece. It was authentic Russian Cuisine at its best, if I may say so. I have to tell you what I had before I go into all the historical stuff. For my beverage, I ordered apple-mango juice (315 rubles). As an appetizer, I was served Grilled Gambas shrimp with vegetable paella, which tasted like cajun shrimp with spicy mixed vegetables on the side (570 rubles). As a main course, I had Duck Leg “Confi” with potato balls, fried ceps, fresh salad and “Fumet” sauce. This was a variation between grilled duck dipped in an italian-style dressing and cajun spices, but it wasnt exactly spicy. And let's not forget the dessert! Apple Strudel with cherry sauce and an ice-cream ball. A classic Russian dish, with a classic Russian response. YUM!
Now for the monuments. I drove by a statue of the city's founders, Vasily Tatishchev and Georg Wilhelm de Gennin. I noticed state universities of anything from railways to theatre. There is a sort of monument of Ekaterinburg rock bands that I particularly enjoyed. Since Ekaterinburg is the fifth largets city in Russia, There was alot of space to cover in so little time, but I made it on my deadline and snapped many photos along the way. After a long flight and drive, I finally made it home, though I admit I have not had a full night's sleep in over two days. So much and yet soo little has happened. I wish to visit again, though I doubt I will need that sort of budget!


FOOD: $243.87

Gas:$32

Money for the Slight Scratch on Mr. Hybrid: $72

Book for the Plane: $5.70

Falling Asleep with a bit of Russia Still Within Me: Priceless.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb