Enjoying some Russian hospitality


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Siberia » Tomsk
April 26th 2008
Published: April 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Tomsk yesterday at 2:30pm, and my friend Artyom was waiting for me at the train station. It was very nice not to have to avoid the nagging taxi drivers (who charge an insane rate!) or to navigate my way around another strange city. I have been spoiled with the royal treatment since I got here. By the way, I met Art and his mother on the train from Beijing to Ulaanbaatar where we shared a compartment. They were very kind to me, and invited me to stay with them in Tomsk. Yesterday, Art drove me around to all the sights of the city. We had some lunch with his girlfriend Natasha and then saw more sights. In the evening we went to the sauna with Natasha and some friends of theirs. It was very relaxing. We also checked out a memorial site where they have had a fire burning for the last 30 years. By this time it was about 1am and there were some local students drinking some beers around the "Eternal fire". Then we came back and Art's mother insisted that I contact my parents to let them know that I was safe. She is so thoughtful and kind. We all chatted on webcam to my parents and they were very happy to hear from me.

Today, Art had to teach for an hour at the university so I wandered the main street taking pictures of the beautiful "wooden lace" houses that this university town is known for. Then Art and Natasha picked me up and we went to Kolarovo which is a small traditional Russian village with a church that was built in 1799. Then we came back and had some lunch at an old cafe. Then we went on a ferris wheel to see the city. We finished up with a tour of the different districts to get an idea of how the rich and poor live. Tonight we will join some of Art's friends for bowling and some Russian BBQ. Art's tours were very thorough and informative. I called him my human Lonely Planet. It was nice to leave it behind for a few days. Unfortunately all good things must end...tomorrow I'm on my way to Moscow. It will take a few days to get there so I will talk to you then!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb