I made it through Siberia!


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
April 29th 2008
Published: April 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have arrived in Moscow! And what a journey it has been! I have learned a lot from the wonderfully kind Siberians, and it has been a really great experience. It seems that it will continue this way. Today I enjoyed some Guatemalan hospitality. My friend (from Korea) AnaLucia's brother goes to school in Moscow, and he picked me up at the train station. I had my first sign (ERIN WHIPP) pickup at the platform, and it was really nice to have a stranger come and take such great care of me. Ernesto and his girlfriend and I then spent the evening checking out MOscow. There was even some special parade where they closed the streets and had tanks, Hummers, and all types of army vehicles drive through..Lots of missiles... cool, but a little creepy. It was also very eerie because the streets were so silent. Anyway, I got some cool pics...hopefully one day I will find a computer that can handle loading the pics (and it certainly isn't this one!) so my blog will be more entertaining...keep tuned in!
Also, thank you to all those who have commented on my blogs..I really enjoy and appreciate the messages. I will try to respond, but internet is usually really bad..it is all I can do to check my mail and add a blog....I have to remember patience is a virtue...and this is part of the experience. I will really appreciate fast internet at home.

Advertisement



29th April 2008

Parade eh?
Hey Whippo!!! Are you sure it was a parade? What if the town was being taken over by the military and you were snapping pics! LOL! Just a thought! Glad your travels are going well! We miss you here! xo
29th April 2008

haah yeah, we were kidding about that too...saying well they sure are ready to protect the city...or take it over....you just never know in Russia...we decided to take off, it was a little creepy with all the guns and missiles...I hope that all is well with you. I miss you too XOXO
29th April 2008

Your adventures!
Hey Whipster! I am enjoying reading about your adventures!! I am so jealous! For me, it's that time of the year again! Guess what unit I just started today.?..you bet, Habitats and Communities! ha ha! Remember that one? Have fun and for god's sakes be safe!! Rebecca
30th April 2008

Moscow
Hello Erin! I can't believe you are already in Moscow. And what a trip it has been for you so far. I am glad that you are having better experiences in Russia than the beginning of your journey! I cannot wait to see the pictures as I'm sure they will really allow us at home to see what you are describing. Hope you continue to meet friendly faces throughout your travels! Love you and Miss you! xoxoxoxoxo Danielle
30th April 2008

Great Russia experiences
Hi Erin, Glad to hear you arrived in Moscow and are enjoying the sights. We very much enjoy hearing about your experiences and it was nice to talk with you on the webcam. It so nice to know you have people to help you on your way. My computer has to get checked out because it is really slow and doesn't let me go online. I am using Danielle's now and will try to continue doing that so we are still in touch. Enjoy your visit to Moscow. Talk soon. Love you. Love Dad and Mom XXXXOOO

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb