St Petersburg


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Saint Petersburg
August 10th 2013
Published: August 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Woah... so I sat down on a comfy beanbag in the hostel, right where I am now, just over three hours ago ready to write this blog when the hostel staff declared that it was one of their birthdays and that we must all join them in the small kitchen for some vodka. Not being terribly in the mood the vodka and having had a busy day I was quiteI (mainly since all my new Croatian friends had followed suit) I ventured into the kitchen at 12am to celebrate the beginning of (insert Russian name here) 's birthday (man I am shit person- I know). Ok so I realise at this point that I am obliged to have bit of vodka. I accept the shots (double shots by Aussie standards) gracefully (as I like to put it) until my head starts to a little fuzzy and I realise "that's enough I probably shouldn't have anymore". Oh what a classic; after this I accept four or five more shots so that I don't let Australia down. An hour later I find myself literally running along one of the canals towards the river to see some bridge open or something. Well I get there and I quickly realise it's one of those things they hype the tourists up about when in reality it's just as boring as it sounds- a bridge lifting up so that the big ships can past. May I add that that I saw two large ships that needed the bridge to open or else they would not be able to pass whilst the other twenty or so tourist boats were there to let the passengers take photos of the experience. GD another damn tourist trap.

Although I would love to share the rest of my day in St Petersburg on here I am currently being eating by mosquitoes, waiting for my washing to finish and also my computer now has less than 10% battery so I guess I will fill it all in while I on the train to Tallinn. Goodnight, I am off to get some mosquito spray!!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb