Photos


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Saint Petersburg
February 10th 2011
Published: February 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Watch your stepWatch your stepWatch your step

Just a taste of what we have to look out for here. And I thought I'd put in one photo before the weekend
So, I've been trying to put pictures up on facebook. I don't want to just throw up album after album of buildings and art, so most of that will just be here. The facebook albums will be more of people and some places/ things that might interest the general public. Pictures here will probably be less people-oriented and include more touristy things. So, that will be included with my next entry after we get back to the city on Sunday. I just wanted to let you know they are coming.

I guess while I'm here, I'll also write a little bit about this week. Overall it was pretty standard. Dima is amazingly imaginative and has been acting like a different character everyday since i got here, including but not limited to: The Hulk, Batman, Harry Potter, a butterfly, Superman, A cat, and a snowman (which was definitely interesting). Fat Cat is still dope, and now actually comes to me when I call him Fat Cat. He decided to climb under my bottom sheet last night. I'm not sure why, but he was so stealthy. He slipped right in through an untucked corner and situated himself tightly between the bottom sheet and the mattress and stayed there for a few hours before moving on. He has been getting his parkour on hardcore also. (Side note: they offer parkour classes as an extra curricular here. rockin. )
The rest of the family is good. They're pretty average, and i really like that.
School has been rough. 1 1/2 hour classes are tough after a commute. Tuesday and Thursday, I have three classes back to back, so 4 1/2 hours. it's pretty killer, but I like most of the classes that I am in. Conversation is the worst. I don't like to be forced to participate when I don't have anything to add, but our prof pushes so hard, and she is the only one that doesn't seem to really care that she's there.
Kevin and Nick have taken to speaking in Austrian accents as a response to Jen and I adopting a variety of more western accents. Nick is amazingly good at it, and looks kind of Austrian, so I get a pretty good kick out of it.
We gave in and got some serious American food today at Carl's Jr. i had actually never been there; I think it is very west-coast. It was not that bad. Overall, I think American food is higher quality here than in America, as far as chains go.

Anyway, that's all. We'll be in Новгород (Novgorod) for the weekend. Pictures to come soon (I hope).

xoxo

* The full-sized image is not working so well, but you get the idea...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb