Trip 5: Finland and Russia


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Saint Petersburg
June 6th 2007
Published: June 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

12/00-1/01

A three week getaway was in the cards for Christmas break in 2000. I decided to go back to Finland yet again and explore more of Russia. I had a great time catching up with my host-families and friends in Finland before I was off to Russia. I was able to see St. Petersburg in a more authentic way this trip because I was by myself this time as opposed to the exchange student field trip from my last Russian trip. January in Russia turned out to be a great time as there were fewer tourists meaning more intimate experiences with places like the Hermitage museum and the cathedrals. The snow also adds frosting to St. Petersburg's wedding cake-like architecture making for some wonderous walks along the canals.

I finally made it to Moscow on this trip and I was very impressed. Red Square, the Kremlin, and St. Basil's cathedral were all everything I imangined and more. The nightlife there was also incredible, although before this trip, I was a solid vodka drinker. After this trip, I never touched the stuff again. You can fill in blanks.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb