catching up...


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Saint Petersburg
July 9th 2005
Published: July 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I have not posted in so long! I'm so sorry. The past couple days I've actually not been feeling well, but before that I have no excuse whatsoever! Thanks again to all readers- it's nice to be able to let people know what I'm up to, and thanks, Greg. Nice to meet you. I must admit my only experience with Chicago was a layover in O'Hare last February, lol. I must say, I'm a bit proud I showed up on google.. kinda lol.

So what have I done since my last diary entry? A fair bit, I tell you!

I was going to try to update from the Hermitage because they have an internet cafe there but it's actually not that good.. quite frustrating, in fact. I was going to be all spiffy and say "Live from the Hermitage" or some such nonsense but alas, it did not work out. But the Hermitage is pretty rockin' cool.

The Hermitage

There is always something a bit tragic about museums, I think. They always have great collections from all over.. and I feel a bit like it's nice that people can see them but sad that they're not in the country that they're actually from and have the most significance for. That said, the Hermitage does have many very beautiful collections that were quite a treat. I intend to return, as I definately did not see all of it.

First off, the Hermitage gets a gazillion bonus points for being free for students regardless of nationality. 😊

Second off, while the collections are great, the palace itself it WOW! I have a lot of pictures of rooms, the floors, the ceilings, etc.

So, what did I see? I saw the Egyptian artifacts, Near Eastern artifacts (these were pretty awesome), Classical sculptures Greek and Roman and copies of them, lol, either Finnish or Flemish crafts, Rembrant room, Italian masters, Rafael room-imitation hall, heros of 1812 room, throne room, grand hall, and other cool rooms and art as well. It'd be impossible to describe, but when I can I will upload pictures. Also, I highly recommend viewing a 2002 (I think) Russian film titled Russian Ark. It's amazing, filmed entirely in the Hermitage, and is on dvd with English subtitles 😊. What's more, it was filmed in one day in winter (i.e. 4 hours sunlight) in one continuous shot. And it's just really neat.. not the most exciting film, but very interesting plus the best view of the Hermitage you could get without going yourself. It's nigh on impossible to really describe, so I promise photos. 😊

Petropavlovsky Krepost again

1. It should be noted that when we didn't pay, we weren't actually breaking the rules! Yay! Students get in free so I am in no way guilty of an honour violation, and that makes me very happy.

2. Got a better view of the church and took pictures. This is pretty cool.

Peter's Domik

this is a great little attraction in the Petrogradsky region. Peter the Great lived quite sparsely, and this two room cabin proves it. it's pretty amazing. Even though he lived there only briefly (or not depending on whether you believe the people who run it or the guidebooks, lol), he ordered it's preservation. It is quite small and nice. He had a study, a dining area, and a teensy bedroom that makes one wonder how a man of his height could have fit in it. It's a quickie stop that's really neat.

The Battleship Aurora

Legend has it that a shot from the bow of the Aurora in 1917 signalled the storming of the Winter Palace. It's pretty cool. Lenin broadcast a radio address about the success of the Revolution from it apparently as well. They have some excellent displays, and you are allowed below deck. I found the small iconostasis fascinating. It's a nice walkabout on a sunny day.


Thursday N and J and I went to Kamenyi and Yelagin Islands, which were a nice walk though easy to underestimate how long it took to the metro. We went to a cafe in the stables of the palace though Im not sure the palace itself is open, but it's pretty to look at.

Later on I met my Russian friend Sasha at Kazanskii Sobor (Kazan Cathedral). We walked all around the Admiralty and to the Neva and the statue of Peter the Great. Apparently when Catherine the Great commissioned it, she said that as long as it stood untouched none would take the city, and so even though there's legends that treasure lies beneath it, none have touched it and none have taken St. Petersburg. 😊


Alright I'm a bad forgetful girl and so I'm gong to cease my account there and give a brief Russian lesson. 😊

oh, and i can't remember if I said this or not, but when I write "kh" it's the most guttural thing close to an H sound but harder- think of the traditional Yiddish pronunciation of the Ch of Channukah and you've got it. Similarly, the Y sound is a really harsh gutteral eee sound, very hard and in the back of the throat.

Also, Greg, if you're going to Ukraine, the G in Russian is usually pronounced like an English H in Ukrainian. 😊

Kto vy po-professi?
(k)To vee pah-prafyessi?
Who are you by your profession?

Ya studyent(ka)
I am a student (use the ka if you're a girl)

Ya inginer
Ya eengeener
I'm an engineer.

Ya khudozhnik
Ya khooDOZHneek
I'm an artist.

Ya = I

prepodavatel'(nitsa) - prepadavatyel(neetsa- fem. ending) = teacher
uchenii/aya - ooCHYOnee/ooCHYOnaya (male/female) - scientist
pisatsel- peesatsyel- writer
vrach- as spelled- doctor
pensioner- penseeonNER - retired person

you may have noticed that while in English we say "I AM (whatever)" Russian simply says "I (profession)". That is because in Russian there is no verb to be in the present tense. 😊 this is fascinating to me. 😊 I hope it is to you too!

anyway

do svidaniye!
~Nzie

Advertisement



10th July 2005

Thanks for the warm welcome
Hi--Wow 6 weeks really flys by. Do enjoy your last weeks there. Thanks for the phrases and can't wait to see the pics when you get back to the states. Have fun! Greg
11th July 2005

No where in this journal do I see any mention of your glorious, lactific sister, she who breastfeeds sublimely. Very sad. Very sad indeed. Especially since she calls you so much on the international phone line whenever she... er YOU... that's it! She calls whenever you are bored. I hope you're ashamed of yourself. Tsk tsk tsk... :-)

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 48; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb