So you wanna go to Moscow?


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
June 30th 2006
Published: June 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

As promised, my very own travel blog. No pics yet, but stay tuned. =)

Some highlights of the trip so far:

Frankfurt Passport Control Guy: So you want to go to Moscow?
Lauren: Yes.
FPCG: And you want to go now?
Lauren: Yes, I'd love to.
FPCG: Ah, then we have a problem. Behind me is Frankfurt, Germany.
Lauren: Oh. Uh, is there a way to get to Moscow without going through you?
FPCG: Unfortunately, yes. Go to the gate that is printed on your ticket.

...getting incredibly lost on the Moscow Metro - ah, gotta love the Cyrillic alphabet where C=S, H=N, and P=R...free Smirnoff Ice on Thursdays and some pretty amazing Russian MTV dance moves from the hookers at the bar we went to with our British hostel roomies...mystery food that turned out to be minced chicken (think: giant McNugget) and a meat crepe served with sour cream...scary elevator of doom that transports us to our 8th floor hostel (and by hostel I mean an apartment with lots of bunk beds and only 1 toilet for 16 people)...sleep oh sweet sleep at the end of a looooong "day 2"...

P.S. Jenkins is alive and well. In fact, he has a newfound love for German Yahtzee...

Advertisement



30th June 2006

how excited was i
when i got the message that a new posting had made on this site! hope you ladies are having fun- glad you made it through passport control--usually that's the scariest part. remember: lauren, no leg wrestling with mongolian wrestlers UNLESS you request private time and jenny, it's your job to prevent her from doing so. if, of course, you can catch her.... miss you girls already! give jenkins a creeped out look for me.
30th June 2006

gotta love russian hookers
i can only hope that you got hookers/jenkens photo. also please get me a soviet era soveneir.
30th June 2006

glad you made it :)
Glad you made it safe and sound. This travel blog is a great idea!
30th June 2006

Hello Darling
Jenny, I can't believe that I missed talking to you. I left you a very strange and confused voice mail yesterday. I just got back from Newport yesterday. I rented an orange moped... I fell in love. It sounds like you guys are having a blast. How are the people in the hostel and who the hell is Jenkins? Send my love to Lauren. Miss you!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb