First 24 hours in Moscow


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
June 14th 2010
Published: June 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ok well the first 24 hours were interesting in Moscow. I left Berlin early Saturday morning and arrived here bang on time at 10.33. Within a few minutes I had been introduced the metro a vast plethora of artwork covered the walls of which. They were built in the 1930s at Stalin's command and were finished a few weeks late (much to the worry of the engineers who expected execution). But frescos cover the walls and they are several art deco stations. Sadly after getting off at Annino on the ring road for my hotel I had an unfortunate incident which ended in me diving out of the door to avoid the driver who was wiedling a pistol (a Stechkin APS unless I am much mistaken) and asking for money. Still I stayed in the hotel last night, rather shaken and unhurt and I am now in the hostel having met up with a few of the guys on the tour with Vodkatrain, 3 English from London (Yes!) and one paddy who has already given me a beer. Overall Moscow isn't too bad and I am looking forward to the next few days now as I finally have some company, possibly beyond Beijing as well. (The paddy is heading for Vietnam) Tomorrow I hope to go and see the Kremlin and perhaps do some proper sightseeing. For now I am going to update my journal, read and try and get back into the groove ready for the next two weeks, which suddenly seem exciting.
Will write again tomorrow.

Advertisement



14th June 2010

Hooooray!
Yey my pep talk seems to have worked it's magic - glad you're remembering I am always right. :P Have an amazing few days, skype me soon! Lots of love B xx
14th June 2010

The Paddy
We are officially the most awesomest bunch of people you will ever meet - we travel the world, bringing joy and beers (essentially one in the same) to the peoples! you cudnt ask for better travelling companions - pity he is off to the 'nam.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb