Moscow - arrival


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
November 11th 2008
Published: February 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Arrived at Sheremetyevo 11/11.

Embarrassed as got the last boarding call in Helsinki en route. Totally not my fault as the immigration guy just left his window without explanation! Luckily a pleasant Finn let me in front of him in his queue. All the same I was last on the plane and had to do the walk of shame!

The airport is beaten up and very old. I was a bit worried going through immigration - what if work has messed up my visa? Got through no worries and even waved through customs after trying to declare that I had more than 40kg of luggage. I'm happy to still have my luggage as one of my mates lost her luggage en route to Moscow!

Without the taxi to pick me up from the airport I would have had no clue what to do or where to go. It's about 9pm and pitch black. The cabbie has good enough english and shows me Gorky Park on the way through to my Kosmodamianskaya apartment. By the time all is done with the property manager it's about 11pm local time (4am Hong Kong!) and I am wrecked. Sleep for hours and hours.

When I wake up I can hear a lot of dogs barking. There's a watery light outside and I take my first photo of Moscow. Getting hungry now so I put on all of my warm clothes (thermals, fleece and north face puff!) before braving the walk down to the only shop I can find, a sort of cold meat and bread shop. Realised I'd been sleeping with the door unlocked (oops!). After much gesticulating I leave with bread, yoghurt & orange juice and beginning to realise that the next 9 months are going to be difficult! Breakfast is bread & vegemite. At probably $40 a kilo in excess baggage I realise I'm eating out of the world's most expensive, giant vegemite jar.

Down to work to sign contracts and get my immigration test. Still jetlagged I report to the American Medical Centre, piss in a cup, get a blood test and an xray. Find out later not only am I being screened for STDs (passed!) I got drug tested. Results are made available to HR who tell me I don't have STDs, TB or any drugs in my system. I'm not surprised though imagine how awkward it might be to find out via work!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb