I'm here!!!!!


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
November 5th 2008
Published: November 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have finally arrived in Moscow!!! I actually got into the Moscow airport on Saturday morning at 2 a.m. but I have spent the last several days resting and trying to get my bearings. Also, today has been the first day since I arrived that I have had internet access. Moscow is quite a different place. Culture shock has set in to say the least. My dorm room is very small. It is very "humble". Soviet style is what they call it. At first I didn't think I could handle it but it is becoming livable now that I know my way around the area and don't have to be cooped up in it so much. The language barrier is probably the worst part of being here. I am unable to communicate much as not many people know English. I went to the grocery store and tried to buy milk but bought buttermilk instead. Later I went back with my Russian dictionary and found the milk!!! I am learning the subway and am glad about that. I found the school yesterday but it was a 45 minute walk!!! Using the subway I can get here in about 20 minutes and I don't have to walk. My feet and legs are killing me from all the walking I have done and I have already lost a belt size! Talk about an extreme diet. I am enjoying myself though. Moscow is such a large city I will never see it all! Amber, the other AIMer is arriving today so at least I will have some company. This weekend we are going to St. Petersburg for a conference so that will be nice. Keep me in your thoughts and prayers. I just wanted to let everyone know I am alive and well and had a nice, safe trip. I will try to keep regular updates on here.
Until next time...

Advertisement



5th November 2008

YEah!
I'm glad you made it safely! I was wondering how you were making it over there. Hope you acclimate quickly! ttyl..Mary

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb