Obninsk Days


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Obninsk
August 19th 2007
Published: August 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It was 26 year anniversary for Obninsk being recognized as a town the last week of July and I must say, I had a great time with several great friends. It is friends like this that wants to make me stay. Freddie, from volleyball, asked me to play in a sand volleyball tournament, which I was not real crazy about but decided to go to at least watch. Leo and another friend came along. Well, it was four man so I decided to play. By the time the match was over, I think most of the people watching were cheering for "the American." I do not know if it was because they were picking on me on the court or just funny watching the American, but they were all cheering and trying to tell me the score in English. Even though we lost all four matches, I had a great time and I must say I had a tear in my eye for the way I was welcomed and cheered. Also, I forgot to tell you, I got Freddie a Georgia University tee-shirt as a gift, which he loved, and because I did not bring clothes to play, he even let
American PlayingAmerican PlayingAmerican Playing

This was afterwards and they were handing out the awards, but everyone is still congradulating me.
me use his new tee-shirt.

Afterwards, they wanted to know if I wanted to go to a sword museum, which did not sound exciting to me. Then they started describing it as more sword fights so I decided to join them. We wondered around the city looking for the tournament and it was cool. This was not acting, but real midevil sword fighting for points. The team from Moscow won, but I had a great time.

We had planned to go back and rest, but I stopped by the cafe and Leo and I ended up talking with the guys there for two hours. I went home quickly to change and meet the guys back at the a cafe where they were having fireworks and belly dancers or as it was translated to me "stomach dancing". I thought it was cute and did not make fun, but did try to explain. Can anyone tell me why it is called belly dancing and not stomach dancing...lol? We of course did the Russian thing of drinking too much vodka, but all had fun (and stayed fairly in control). We also did more Russian things by buying another bottle of vodka
Obninsk GangObninsk GangObninsk Gang

Freddie, Leo and Egor
and drinking it on the street in plastic glasses. No, it is not legal, but an acceptable practice.

The next day after resting for most of it, I joined Denis, my translator at a jazz concert in the park. It was pretty good and I think it made Denis's day that I join him and met some of his friends that play in the band.

I must say, that weekend made me feel good and I can honestly say these are guys that are becoming true friends. Yes, I have met a lot of people and I will miss a lot of them, but Leo and Freddie will call me and ask what am I doing, let's meet. When we meet, we do not have to drink, we may just meet for an hour and then head home. Freddie has asked me to join him on a trip out of town. I could not go because Jetta was in town so we are postponing it to another weekend.

Then this weekend, Leo invited me to his birthday party. I was not feeling well so I only had one toast then went to orange juice, but stayed out
Knight KramerKnight KramerKnight Kramer

Leo thought it would be funny to see me with the mask on...I must say, it was heavy.
with them. I should have stayed in bed, but to see the look in his face when I showed up, it was worth fighting the cold one extra day. They are so funny, they always want to make sure I get home okay. They call themself the Obninsk Gangsters and they are here to protect their American friend. One of Leo's other friends that I met for the first time last night, was just in awe that he was sitting at a table with an American and listening to English. He was funny, but he was sincere about it. We take so much for granted about ourself and our country. We may not always be liked, but we have a lot to be thankful for.

I am very thankful for meeting this group of guys!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Watching in the RainWatching in the Rain
Watching in the Rain

I just liked this picture so wanted to post it. This was while we were watching the sword fights.
Russian AmericanRussian American
Russian American

Me with my new Russian flag as I stop to take a picture.
The Gangsters Protecting the AmericanThe Gangsters Protecting the American
The Gangsters Protecting the American

This was the Obninsk Gangsters protecting the American while he was touring Obninsk for Obninsk Days...lol
Big Blue EyesBig Blue Eyes
Big Blue Eyes

This photo does not really go with the story, but did remind me. These girls were following us and one finally asked Leo if she could have 10 rubles. Leo agreed as he stared at her large breasts that were pretty well exposed. Afterwards, we asked if got her number and he said no, but she had big blue eyes. So I guess that is the new code word for large breasts.
After a little drinkingAfter a little drinking
After a little drinking

That is my new Russian flag that I bought and paid too much money for.
Jazz BandJazz Band
Jazz Band

In the park in located in the old city.


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb