Belated Easter


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Obninsk
April 9th 2007
Published: April 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

First I want to wish everyone a Happy Easter. This year the Russian Orthodox Easter landed on the same day as the Christian Easter. I know there are two different calendars, but not sure how Easter is determined, but it too was yesterday (Sunday). It is not really celebrated here. I know they have a lot of Easter cakes for sale, but I do not think people do anything much different, as general statement.

As for weather, I think our weather is much the same as many of you are getting back home. March was awesome here, but April has been cold and windy (I guess like spring is suppose to be). We woke up to everything covered in snow. By the evening, it had melted off, but did continue to snow later that evening. I thought I might wake up to snow covered buildings again, but just wet outside but it is 25oF so plenty cold. I guess I will need to get my sweaters back out...lol

Speaking of sweaters, went shopping with Alex in Moscow on Saturday. I found a sweater I really like that was half price so got it, along with a summer shirt and pants. I will need to get my sewing skills out as the pants are too long. I am sure I can find someone who could hem them, but I may give it a try first. We will see.

That is about all that is going on here, but wanted to wish everyone a Happy Easter.


Added 6 May 2007 taken from Where Moscow April 2007 pages 26-28:
"...Calculation is rather complex because the date depends on the solar-lunar calendar of the ancient Hebrews. This year, East falls on April 8, and -such a rare occasion-this date is common for all Christians aroudn the world, and -even more surprising-it coincides with the Hebrew Pesach, Passover....From olden times until the 1917 Bolshevik revolution, Easter was the main religious festival marked in Russia. Before Easter, during the seven weeks of Lent, Moscow as well as the rest of Russia, lived in an atmosphere of calm and quiet, with all public institutions, excep churches and bathhouses, closed....The last week of Lent (called Passion Week by the Russian Orthodox Church) is a time of the strictest fasting and when Christians recall the tradgic events that took place two thouusand years ago - Christ's arrival in Jerusalem, his sermons, arrest and cruicifixion. Beginning with Great Thursday (all days of the Passion Week are called Great by the Orthodox believers), everybody is engaged in preparing for the forthcoming holiday. This day was also known as Clean Thursday? people cleaned their homes, prepared dfestive clothes and wen to the bathhouses. Needless to say, they als went to church to confess and prepare themselves for an Easter service. Daily chores continued until the evening of Great Saturday: people painted eggs, prepared Easter cakes (kuliches) and cottage cream with raisins (paskha), fried pancakes, and baked biscuits and gingerbread in the shape of crosses, lambs, doves and other symbols of peace. Paskhas and kuliches and other tasty foods were always prepared in abundance to be sure there was enough to entertain all friend and relatives and give to the poor....On the evening of Great Saturday, people carried their Easter cakes and painted eggs to the church to be blessed. Near to midnight, the service began. A contemporary described the solemn beginning of Easter bell ringing in Moscow in the arly 20th centrury: 'A crowd of many thousand people on the square near the Kremlin fell silent; then - all of a sudden - there came a roaring sound. The air shook, split by a strong but soft stroke of the Assumption Bell.'...At midnight, priests with icons and banners and believers with candle walk around the church to the accompaniment of bell ringing. In the days of old, festive-looking mica lanterns with candles inside were carried on four-meter-long poles in front of the porocession. On the following day, Easter Sunday, people broke their fast, enjoying festive meals, and then went out to watch Easter shows or visited friends and relatives. The holiday lasted throughout the Easter week, and all the week, tables remained laid in preparation for visitors. Children played with Easter eggs, rolling them around and knocking one against another - the egg that cracked went to the owner of the harder egg. Bell ringing never stopped all Easter week - in keeping with a time honored custom, any person who wished could ring the bells.

Many Easter traditions abandoned in Soviet times have been revived and some new customs have appeared...."



Advertisement



9th April 2007

Happy Easter
I can not get over how awesome it is that you are traveling to as many places as you can. I am so darn jealous I can't hardly stand myself. The only thing I have on my traveling agenda so far is Williamsburg, VA over July 4th week. It should be a lot of fun though. And the same friend - John - wants me to come to his Uncle's place in St. Thomas in October. We'll see about that one. Take care sweetie! I'm glad your back is feeling better.
10th April 2007

Poland Next Weekend
Just rubbing it in a little bit, I am off to Warsaw next week for a long weekend. Nothing specific on my agenda but do have a full day tour lined up for next Saturday. If I can make it work, we have May 1 off for a holiday and I am seriously considering going to Athens Greece for that long holiday weekend. All joking aside, it has been wonderful to travel and see so many places I could never have done in a short period of time had I been in the States. There is no doubt that weighed on my decision to extend my contract into 2008. I am going to take advantage of the opportunity while I can. I will hopefully see many of you in July while I am home for a few weeks. I miss you all!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb