Fabric


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Obninsk
March 8th 2007
Published: March 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A quick story before heading to bed. Mom had asked me for some "Russian" fabric. I had not found any that I liked and/or that looked Russia but yesterday after getting home early to go to a fabric store before they closed, I found something I thought she might like. Of course I do not know the process and not really ask so I just assume as I unpin the piece I wanted and brought it to the cash regristered. I am not sure exactly what she said, but she was not happy as you took it back and repinned it. I was so careful not to have the other pieces around it fall to the floor.

The good news, while I was there thinking I was checking out, I see some other print that I also liked so I asked for two meters. I did not know how to say 1.5 meters so Mom is getting 2 meters. Then I ask for the original one I wanted and found it is kept in the back and that was only from demo and show the price...lol No wonder she was not happy with me, but all in all, it worked out fine.

Okay, I am off to bed. Do not worry about me, but I am going to stay in a hostel tomorrow night so Misha does not have to make so many trips to/from Moscow. After work, I am going to a "meet & greet" (no, it is not Applebee's) and not sure how long it is going to last and I keep hearing how good StarLite Restaurant is so for American food. I am not homesick for it, but I do want to try it out so on Saturday, I am going to go to StarLite then shop on Arbat street for a little while before Misha picks me up in the early afternoon. The hostel is only $25/night and looks clean and safe. I figure for one night I can handle it and if I hated, fine, it was only one night and I will be headed home soon. If I like it, it will be a much cheaper way to stay in Moscow for the evening and pay these crazy hotel prices they want around here. I am sort of looking forward to it and yes, it may be a day or two late, but I will let everyone know how it goes.

We were suppose to go skiing on Saturday afternoon, but it has been way too warm and most of the snow is melting. I did not realize this, but there is a ski slope right here in Obninsk. I do not know how good it is or anything about it, but I was surprised there was a slope here even if it was small. On Sunday, Natalia (the English teacher), her husband, and Kate, my Russian teacher, are coming over to help me practice my Russian and look at my pictures. Palava is a big photographer so we are going to share stories and show off our pictures. I got my crock pot receipe book out so I can bake something for everyone.

I am going to have to take my time because I think I slightly burnt my peanut brittle today. It tastes fine, but is much darker than what it is suppose to be. If it is not burnt, anyone have any suggestions as to what I might have done wrong? I had all of the right ingredients. The only thing that was sort of different is their butter here, but it was butter. Oh well, as long as it tastes good! Good night all!

Advertisement



9th March 2007

With all the great adventures you're having there I'm wondering if we'll ever see you again here stateside! :-)

Tot: 0.578s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.2661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb