Happy Women's Day!


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Obninsk
March 7th 2007
Published: March 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Not a lot to write, but I had to share the pictures with me being so famous by signing the students calendars. I have to admit, it did make me feel important. I feel bad, Natalia, their teacher, always thinks she has to get me something. This last time, she got me a book, in both Russian and English, about the Kaluga region, which is where I live. The one downfall of the book, it does not have a lot about Obninsk and I am not sure if that is because it was one of the unnamed cities or why, but it is a very nice book to have as part of my collection of things from here.

I did not get a thing done today at work. It is "Women's Day" tomorrow (Thursday) and everyone had to celebrate. Women's Day is sort of like Mother's Day and Valentine's Day all wrapped into one. Even the guys dress up in honor of the women. It is sort of neat, but do not plan on getting anything done.

Tomorrow, I am going shopping with Gaukhar, one of our translators. She needed to get some gifts and I wanted a few American things from Stokman's so Misha is picking us up in the morning, making a McDonald pitstop then to Mega to do some shopping. I will probably stop by the office on the way back to do a few things, but I too plan to enjoy the afternoon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.373s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1111s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb