Ice / Лед


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Obninsk
March 2nd 2007
Published: March 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Okay, funny story before I sign off and head to bed before my trip tomorrow. I was at the local cafe/bar and my normal waitress was not there so I sat in a different section. I ordered my normal Jack Daniels (Джек Данилс) with lots of ice. The waitress got the Jack okay, but struggle with ice. I tried saying it in Russian all sorts of ways, "lots", "loads", "lots", but never quite got "lod" but spelled "led" so she pointed to pen and paper and I wrote out "ice". She took it with her to obviously ask someone and I saw them both look over and smile so I thought they had it. You will never guess what I got with my Jack Daniels, ice cream! Thank goodness they did not pour the Jack over the ice cream, but brought them out separately so I enjoyed both. Only me!

I also think my bathroom is haughted. I think I wrote about meeting my downstairs neighbor when I flooded their bathroom because my washing machine hose came out of the tub. Well, it happened again last week. This time I double checked to make sure it was in there but somehow it came out of the tub again and I was at my computer and kept hearing this banging, but it would not stop nor did it sound like someone putting a nail in the wall and it finally dawned on me that it may be a "get your attention" type of banging and sure enough, it was my washing machine draining on the floor and then down to the neighbors!

Today, coming home, I about had a heart attack because flowing out of the front door to the complex is water and I am thinking the worse. Thank goodness it is a pipe (sewage pipe nonetheless) with a leak in it, but it is no small leak. The downstairs is completely flood (no solid waste, just standing water) and as you go up each flight of stairs, it gets deeper and deeper. This is one time I am glad I am on the fourth floor as I only had about an inch of water on my landing and not high enough to come in the door. However, I still have problems in my bathroom as now my sink leaks when you drian the water. I noticed it this morning when my bath mat was wet. I did not realize it was from the sink, but it looks like the drain hose has a leak in it. My landlord will be good about getting it fixed, but it is just the idea. I am glad I caught it before my neighbors did. I am waiting on their bill for the water damage one of these days.

It has also warmed up above freezing here so all of the snow is melting and a real mess. At 11:00 PM at night, it is 36oF and not suppose to drop much overnight.

Today was my translators last day. I told her I would not need her next week. Wow, talking about getting upset. She went to HR and wanted to know what rights she had to keep her job (until next Wednesday, which was her last day based on her resignation.) I guess I busted her bubble that I did not need her, but after yesterday and she telling me what difference does it matter what a particular road name was because I would not know it anyways, I had just about enough. I wanted to tell Misha to stop and then tell Svetlana to just get out and walk, but I did not. Oh was she mad today. I have two interviews lined up for Monday so hopefully I can find the right person fairly quickly. Until then, Dasha and I will be working together.

One last thing was English class this evening. My parents bought me some calendars with scenes from around the United States so I gave them to the students. They just loved it! Then they made my head big because about half of them wanted me to sign the calendars with their names and something in English. It did make me feel good! It is a pain trying to schedule the time, but it is well worth the time and then Natalia, the teacher that I met in the coffee house which is how it all started, always thinks she needs to get me something. This time she got me a history book on the Kaluga region, which is where Obninsk is located and to make it even better it is in both English and Russian. The last time her husband gave me this big picture of Prague, since they know how much I love Prague. Okay, I need to get going but wanted to give everyone a quick update!

Advertisement



3rd March 2007

I've heard of haunted houses but never quite a haunted bathroom! lol It could only happen to you! I'm glad to hear about your teaching English going well, you were always really good at explaining things. Have fun and keep writing, you are missed.
5th March 2007

Great Story
Great story, Vince. I introduced my wife to you via your blog tongiht. We had a good laugh. Hope all continues to go well for you in spite of your washing machine. Jbo(Robert)
7th March 2007

Welcome back
I'm so glad you are back to entering on your blog. I missed you! I'm glad you had some wonderful trips though. I'm truly sorry about your kitty-cat. Congratulations on the contract extension. I just wish I could afford to come and see you. I can't wait to see where your next mini-trip will be. Take care!
7th March 2007

Loading Pictures from Yarosolvo
I will have to check the spelling, but I was just loading the pictures from Yarosolvo which is a famous city north of Moscow. I am guessing it is about 300 kilometers, maybe more, north of Moscow. In an earlier posting, I thought I was going east, but after looking on the map, it is due north. Then next week, I am off to Cairo Egypt for about a week and finishing that week of vacation in Frankfurt Germany visiting with my parents who will be visiting my sister and her family.
8th March 2007

Cairo
I'm so jealous I can't hardly stand myself. Cairo. Egypt. Arrrghhh! I've got to win the lottery so I can just dash out and meet you when you take all these trips!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb