AI


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Naro-Fominsk
March 1st 2007
Published: March 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yes, for those of you in the poultry industry, you know all too well, what we just went through. If you had not heard, there were several AI confirmed outbreaks in the Naro-Fominsk district which is the same as ours and there was one in Kaluga, which is a different region, but actually closer to us than the Naro-Fominsk's ones. Knock on wood, they are behind us, but they were way too close for comfort. We completely shut down the farms and many other biosecurity measures, but it was scary since the way we raise birds here, ALL birds are on the same properity just a few kilometers apart from each other in different zones so one break would most likely mean the entire farm.

To make my life worse, we had a positive Salmonella come up from our (raw) ground and breaded product. Now anyone who knows anything knows there is Salmonella in raw chicken, but here in Russia, they believe all chicken cooked or raw is Salmonella free. The best way to describe this situation is like having a Lm positive in a fully cooked product. We have had multiple samples pulled, had to write corrective action letters, answer all kinds of questions, etc. and it is so hard for me to answer some of them without laughing when they want to know what we are going to do so that our raw chicken is Salmonella free. What really amazes me is that this is one of the first incidents we have encountered in several years from what I am being told so I guess it is "safe" to eat raw chicken meat from Russia...lol I am just joking for anyone who might think I was serious.

I had better get to bed, I am speaking to several Englishes classes tomorrow after work then heading to Yaroslavl Russia on Saturday morning with Alex. We will be back on Sunday. I do not know what to expect, but I will have my camera with me and try to take notes. Have a great weekend!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.513s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1964s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb