Another Bites the Dust


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Naro-Fominsk
February 21st 2007
Published: February 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

SnowSnowSnow

Snow by the plant after our first real winter storm.
I know I have not written since I left on vacation and all of this AI is not helping much here in Russia, but I am alive and well. I am going to try to update at least some of the stuff going on. I had even written hand notes so I did not forget anything and now have lost those notes so I will have to go on memories and pictures. However, before getting into all of that, after calling off "sick" my translator came back today and resigned. I am not stupid, I know she was looking for a new job but what gets me is we pay people here when they are out sick. So she got paid to search for a job and there is nothing I can do since she brought a doctor's note in confirming she was sick, which probably cost her 100-500 rubles ($4-$20) unless she has a family member who is a doctor then it was free.

Oh well, it really does not hurt my feelings. I told Human Resources, I wanted someone who would be at work and who knew how to smile and laugh once in awhile. They asked, what
Snow1Snow1Snow1

Snow by the plant after our first real winter storm.
about their English and Russian knowledge, I told them at this point, I could teach them that part, but not if they were not at work and/or did not know how to smile. Of course I am joking, but Svetlana put me in a bad mood so I am actually glad she made this decision. I am still going to make her work out her last two weeks and will we will be working some hours to help make up for her time off...lol

I know most of you in the middle to upper US had it a lot worse than we did, but here are a few pictures from the office. We got hit with a pretty good storm last week. It was warm enough and the snow wet enough, it did not drift but today is much different. We are getting some good size drifts and the temperature is dropping. Believe it or not, we are to have a high, yes high, not including wind chill of -1oF tomorrow and a low of -28oF. Good thing I am leaving, I am heading to Turkey, assuming nothing worse happens with this AI thing, tomorrow after work since Friday
Snow2Snow2Snow2

Snow by the plant after our first real winter storm.
is a Holiday. They call it "Man's Day" and yes, there is a "Women's Day" as well coming up next month. The best way to describe it is like "Father's Day" but they honor all men. I am not sure why we have it off and not Women's Day, but we do so I am taking advantage of it and visiting Turkey.

I will be writing more later!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Snow2Snow2
Snow2

Snow by the plant after our first real winter storm.


Tot: 0.453s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0946s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb