damn pizza


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania
June 11th 2006
Published: June 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

whoa! was i sick today. morning sickness. i wish i had a little soul inside of me asking to get out (aka baby), but, as i am not Virgin Mary 😊, it was just a bloody stomachache. pizza last night. or a "napoleon." or...well, the cause matters less. what matters is that i woke up in pain, wiggled my legs around in the house, again in pain, and until now, i've been feeling dizzy, weak, etc. california certainly didn't prepare me to simply sit around, sleep as much as i want, eat whatever i want, relax. once my belly stopped aching, my back and legs were giving me trouble, as a result from laying down for more than 6 hours. it reminded me a bit of the times i had knee surgery, and had to sit in bed for I MONTH. talk about pain....

now, a few hours later, a home-made chocolate-and-rum cake and a green apple from the local green market later, i am sitting once again in front of my cousin's screen. and it looks like instead of writing travelblogs i'm writing up everything but a travelblog. one more thing: do not eat pizza when you don't feel like it.

so travelling...i did miss it. Craiova is a bit of a dead town to me, simply for the fact that all students are in session, and my cousin's family has moved to a new neighborhood that i just do not know. i wish i could just go outside and explore, but i was warned the multitude of gipsies in the area will trouble me. NOT! but i'm not allowed to go out by myself, and that is that. my family is trying to keep a tight look on me. geez - they didn't get the memo that i've been on my own for a good 5 years now.
what pleased me immensely was the local market. grandma made sure to walk me around, show me "the best prices", and show me off. i was the "grand-daughter that came all the way from the states to see her." oooomph - what was truly embarassing is that she urged ME, everytime she met with a local, to say where i live and why am i here for. at least she didn't ask me to say a few words in english. that would've been....no words.
so we bought these green apples, off the hook, lemme tell ya. nowhere have i found such natural, tasty, wax-free apples. i don't know their denomination, because there was none. "apples" the little white sheet of clumsily torn paper said.
then we moved on to the meat department. didn't i say romanians are poor, and so is my family? well, it seems like family pets do deserve the best, even when finances don't allow for much. my family's cats, Mica and Tom are fed with raw beef, grade a, boneless, fat free. take that for pet-lovin'!!!
after a few smirks behind us (as a result to my grandma's unveiling of the -- i say shameful -- fact that she needed the best meat not for humans, but for cats), i insisted we go to the pastry department, so i can sink my teeth in a freshly baked filo dough cheese pie. THE BEST!!! man oh man did i tear that cheese turnover!!!
that's it. here's the answer: when any of you visits romania, even though the urban landscape has little to offer, you will find that you will constantly need food, not because of hunger knocking at your stomach's door, but because of pure LUST for the food here. it is divine. i usually don't ask anyone to cook for me, but i've been craving foods i used to devour in my childhood, that i just COULD NOT HELP ask my 84 yo aunt to cook up some chicken rice, and my 81 yo grandma to make a chocolate-and-rum cake.

time to sleep. tuesday i am heading over to constantza. since my sacred/profane project went down the drain, i will surely just run around town to capture other things. photography. ahhh!!!!

Advertisement



12th June 2006

i want shops
hey friend! just letting you know that i've been keeping track of your whereabouts. good to hear you're back in Europe! add some nice shots of romanian cities/towns/people/shops if you can. i love photos of foreign shops.
12th June 2006

mr. b
well, how are you doing? any plans of coming to visit my sweet country? you will be lodging at my spot for free. and the black sea cannot wait for some foreigners... about the pictures -- well, i only shoot film, silly me! but i will be borrowing my friend's digital camera, to post some pictures before it's too late. i was thinking abou tcoming to poland for a day or two, because i will be in florence for 7 days, and a train from there to your abode wouldn't be so bad to take. whaddaya say?>

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb