What's a Bucharest with you?


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania
October 9th 2005
Published: October 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

BucharestBucharestBucharest

Bucharest at sunset...
Ok
Lloyd and I decided last minute to skip Bulgaria head east and go to Bucharest, Romania. This town is really cool and I strongly recommend checking it out if you're ever in the vicinity. We stayed at the Elvis hostel where the girls at the reception were fun and super helpful. Lloyd and I decided to stay here for three days and really take in the city. We went out two nights and met a ton of locals. They have a rather pesimistic view on life, but they are really nice to talk to.
WE took a tour of the "peoples parliment" which is the 2nd largest building in the world next to the Pentagon. It's 3 kilmoteres around (2 miles). Also behind the parliment is a recreation of the Champs Elyse which in order to make, the communist leader Caoucuscu (not correct spelling) destroyed 3 cathedrals 2 synagoges and forced 70.000 people to become homelss. I mean it does look a lot like the champs elyse but i don't think it was worth it.
I went to the national gallery and checked out some Monet's, and some Romanian art, which turned out to be pretty good.
ArrivalArrivalArrival

14 hour train ride. This is the photo at the border at around 2am

One of the highlights of Romania was going out to this restaurant called "Burabist." It was a rather fancy restaurant for Romania but for 13 bucks I got a salad, venison stew, 3 beers, and some cheescake, which they serve hot. kind of odd.
We headed directly to Istanbul, which turned out to be a 21 hour train ride. This time we learned our lesson and made reservations on the sleep cart. This was rather luxuirous. For 14 Euros we got out own rooms which had sinks and heaters in them. WOW!!!!

A couple of funny things happend in Bucharest.
1. I got trapped in an elevator in the national gallery
2. Some guy that I was chatting with asked me "How much do blow jobs cost in America?" I said i didn't cuz I've never had to pay for one. I asked him how much do they pay in Romania. "Eight Euros"...needless to say I did not pay.

on a side note
I watched when harry met sally at our hostel..that movie rocks...especially the documentary about it on the dvd...





Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Some DoucheSome Douche
Some Douche

2nd largest building in the world....next to the pentagon.
YummyYummy
Yummy

This was the Obuc Obor...The Gipsy market...they had eveyrthing for sale, that you didn't want. Tounge, Brain, brooms, you name it
Brooms anyone?Brooms anyone?
Brooms anyone?

cute little lady selling brooms...sorry to say we didn't buy one.
Paris?Paris?
Paris?

Nope. Just the fake Champselyse....Stupid dicactor communist bastards
Flower amongst flowersFlower amongst flowers
Flower amongst flowers

My two favorite impressionist paintings in the museum. These were by some romanian guy...I had to sneak this photo cuz you weren't allowed to take photos...Shhhhhh
puppiespuppies
puppies

These two puppies were actually in the gates of parliment... they followed us around for a while...I wanted to take the one the left home so badly...Boomer reincarnate
HmmmmHmmmm
Hmmmm

This painting was in the parliment. It was supposed to represent the "good times" during sentiment. Our tour guide had other thoughts on the subject
Old with the newOld with the new
Old with the new

Cool building...Half new..Half Old
Trapped in the elevatorTrapped in the elevator
Trapped in the elevator

While I was trying not to panic...little ladies were yelling at me from outside..in Romanian of course..Finally we figured it out
Room with a viewRoom with a view
Room with a view

My private room view on the way to Istanbul...aww this is the life
Accident waiting to happenAccident waiting to happen
Accident waiting to happen

Sidewalk in Bucharest...yeah I know...


12th October 2005

Mr. London....
You are too much dude... is that your best zoolander look in the elevator?! HOT. So i cannot wait to see you in south india!!! haha. i miss you adam, come find me in asia and PLAY!!!
5th February 2006

from romania
Well i must say that i found pics from romania here, cause most of the people havent even heard about it. Well i congratulate you: you've captured teh essence. I could have given you a tip or 2 on some other cool places and things to take a photo of.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb