HOME after 6 months


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania
February 28th 2007
Published: February 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey

I got home and i am writing my first post from Romania, actually from aiesec office. I got home 5 days ago and i still have problems with the time difference, i have a cold and i need to sleep all the time. Yesterday i had the impression that is 28 and i was working like crazy on some trainings.
The first thing that i noticed about Romania is that ...it's small, and my home town looks like a cold brick with pieces of culture, i had more cultural shocks back home than in Canada, taxi drivers trying to take advantage of me, people not smiling, humidity, chaotic traffic, etc.
I didn't immagined that i will see Romania like this, but i even noticed the huge pile of garbage from my street and i was kind of shocked (i am sure it was there 6 months ago when i left). Back home i feel like a guest and everybody has so much energy...
AIESEC: So far it was good, but i still have the feeling that people still have frustrations and staff and new members are kind of distant... it's different than AIESEC i know. BUT i still love it.
The big surprise was the fact that after two years i managed to have a real discussion with Rik and i felt that there is no tension in between us.
The best part was that i got to see my sisters 😊

I will keep you posted with what is going on, right now i am working at my trainings for SpringCO.

ALL THE BEST FROM Romania.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



28th February 2007

:) good to see you made it home safe and sound :)
Back home! :) :( I know the feeling and the return cultural shock you`re going through, public clerks` rudeness, taxi driviers ripping you off, sad mourning-like faces everywhere..in a way I understand, but it`s something I know I couldn`t live with...all I can say is Good luck, hang in there and you`ll do just fine! Besos! Mona.
9th March 2007

Home, sweet home
Danny Dannitto! Just got back to Poland yesterday... Huh surprisingly I could sign under your post sooo many times, well, hello, welcome home;-) my cat ignored the fact I'm back and didn't even show up, bastard! -the jet lag caused insomnia so I'm grumpy since haven't sleep to much -my room is a storage for all the garbage in the house, am trying to stuff it even more with my overweight luggage -my parents both have flu now so I'm running around with hot soup and tea -it's raining -I have 125 euro less in my pocket since the customs officers decided to check my luggage and didn't like the fact that I'm smuggling Canadian electronics into the magic Union (they were kinda cute though) -They lost my luggage in London so am wandering around the house in Mum's pants So, life is good! Good to be back. Anyway, great idea with this blog, keep it on!

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb