Cluj-Napoca


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania
August 4th 2015
Published: August 5th 2015
Edit Blog Post

August 3, 2015 – Everyone got up around the same time today too, at 7:30. I had some breakfast and then left to take a few pictures in town. I ended up spending the time mostly making sure I knew how to walk back to the train station, so I wouldn’t be late. I came back, finished packing up, and then headed out, more confident I knew where I was going. It was a different, but more direct route than Erick and I had taken to get to the hostel, which was good for me. The train station was small, and there was no electronic board to see if the train was on time. I asked the woman working and she said it was 10 minutes late. Everyone went out to the platform at the same time, and then there was an announcement saying the train was 30 minutes late. I put my bag down and ate the yogurt I brought. I passed the time listening to a British family with two kids. It was kind of hilarious, but made me happy once again that parenting is not my responsibility. The train did come eventually, and I found my seat. It was in a cabin with a couple of women and a man, but they mostly kept walking around or sitting elsewhere. The train was hot and the window in the compartment did not open. I spent my time either sleeping or talking to a French guy I had met in the hostel in Brasov. We stood at the window in the hallway of the train, where I could stick my head out like a dog and cool down. He studied in Cluj, the town we were heading for, earlier this year, so he was giving me some advice of things to do.

The train was supposed to arrive at 3:41pm but actually arrived just after 5pm. This is the final stop of my journey. I fly home early on Wednesday morning. I bought a ticket for the bus and waited about 10 minutes for bus 27. I had to take it 5 stops to get to my hostel, but I never know if the bus will stop at all stops (like it seemed to in other parts of Romania) or only when requested (like at home). In that case, there was no telling when the 5th stop would happen. I was standing up with my bags, when this woman told me to sit down. She instantly became my mother for the journey, despite having no English. I showed her the name of my stop, and it was clear she would tell me when we were there. She also made me move my small backpack off my lap so it wouldn’t be so hot. Like I was 5. It was kind of sweet.

The hostel was right across from the bus stop and check-in was quick. I had a bottom bunk, as requested, and they said they could help me arrange a taxi to the airport when I left. I settled in a bit, and saw Raphael, a guy I had met in Kiev. He was here for a four day music festival that blessedly ended the day before I arrived. Apparently 200,000 people were here this weekend, and I missed it by one day. Amen. That would not have suited my need for quiet and (relative) privacy. I was starving, so I walked into town to find some dinner. It took about 30 minutes to get into the center, but most of the walk was through a central park, so it was nice. It also took me through the area they were still cleaning up from the festival. I ended up at a small place someone had recommended, and for the third time in Romania, I tried to order Hungarian goulash. And for the third time, I was denied. I suspect this dish does not actually exist in this country. So I got a spaghetti carbonara instead. I walked around a main square, but it was already 8pm, so I decided to walk back. I have all day tomorrow to see the town.

Back at the hostel I had the whole common room to myself, as everyone was on the terrace upstairs. I got to skype and then watch Last Week Tonight before bed. I can’t believe I only have one day left….mixed feelings as I am excited to go home to my own bed, but not excited about the school year starting so soon. I go back to work next week and can’t imagine it. And, it will be just as hot and uncomfortable in my own place as it has been here. Switzerland should just never be that hot. Ever.

August 4, 2015 – I slept pretty well with the earplugs – didn’t hear the guys come in. Just get sore ears from sleeping on them. Got up around 7:30 and had breakfast at 8:15 when they got it together. Just some cereal and bread, but it was enough. I filled my bowl with adult looking muesli and then topped it with chocolate kid’s cereal. Classy. So few hostels provide breakfast here, so it was a nice change.

Another hot day was forecasted, so my plan was to go to the Transylvania history museum and then the botanic garden and Hungarian cemetery. I decided to skip the pharmacy museum since I’d already been to one this summer. I walked first to the area I was in last night, and stopped at a donut shop that was line-out-the-door crowded last night. Raphael said it’s been busy for four days straight. Just normal donuts, but I got one, since it was the thing to do. Then I went into St. Michael’s church, on the main square. Nicer from the outside, I think. Next stop was the history museum, but it turns out it was closed Monday and Tuesday, so I had to give that a miss. I walked to the botanic garden and spent a lot of time there. I still felt tired, probably from a lack of sleep build-up. I sat on the bench and ate some leftover ships for lunch (obviously today will be a health food approach to food) and read my book. I walked around and it was more like walking in a forest. Kind of exciting, even though it was hardly a real adventure. Saw a couple greenhouses with cool plants and enjoyed the walking. From there, I headed to the cemetery, as you do. It was enormous, like the botanic garden, and quite empty (of the living, anyway). At one point I started to question whether I would be able to find the exit, but I used the sun for direction and it actually worked. Amazing. On my walk back, I got a pretzel and ate it in front of an ice cream place, thinking I would get one of those too, last day and all. But then I didn’t feel like it. I stopped instead for a bubbly water and walked back to central park, where I sat on a bench, drank my fizzy drink and read my book. It’s a college town, and pleasant, but not overly endowed with big sights to see. Just as well, as I am getting tired, and enjoyed going a little slower for a change.

I walked back to the hostel and decided to have my leftovers from the train ride for dinner – 2 hard-boiled eggs, an apple and some chips. Mostly healthy. Going to watch The Daily Show and relax tonight, as I have to get up somewhere in the 4 o’clock hour for my taxi ride to the airport and subsequent 6:30am flight to Basel. So glad I can fly home to Basel rather than to Zurich. My flight lands at 7:40am and I can get home with a whole day ahead of me. Watch out kittens – you’re in for a lot of love in the near future!

August 5, 2014 – I woke up several times in the night, checking the clock. I finally got up at 4am and was in a cab by 4:30am. I had to wake up the hostel guy and he called the taxi for me, but then I had to return my locker key for the deposit (which is the first time I’ve had a deposit for a locker key). He didn’t have the right change but I was able to make change. I hurried out the door, as the taxi was already there, and we sped away towards the airport.

At the airport I dropped my bag off and went to security. Only when I emptied my pockets did I realize I still had the locker key! I guess we both missed that in trying to get the right change. I suppose I’ll have to mail it back. There was no money changer there either, so I’m hoping my Romania colleague will be happy to do an exchange with me when school starts next week. If not, Romania’s always nice to visit again.

The flight was two hours and Basel was cold and foggy when we landed. So different from where I’ve been. But it will get hot later and for the next few days will be in the 90s. We landed at 7:35 and by 8:00 I was waiting for the bus. I stopped at a shop for bread and cheese on the way home, as you do, and then got the tram. The bus that connects one stop from the tram had just left, so I walked the rest of the way home. Saw my neighbor on the way in and then came home to three sleepy cats who seemed slightly annoyed that I had woken them up, but then happy to sniff my luggage. But it was so good to see them after more than five weeks.

Watched Jon Stewart and ate my breakfast, then started to groom. I took a bath to scrub the trip off of me and to wash my hair like no one’s business. I feel much better. Today will obviously be a lazy day, but glad to be home. I even discovered I lost 5 pounds on this trip, despite regularly eating severely calorie-laden foods. But I ate less often and walked significantly more every day than normal. Would be great to keep it off, but the bread and cheese for breakfast and lunch probably did not help. Maybe tomorrow I’ll see if I can still go for a run, or if I have to start from scratch.

Overall, very satisfied with my summer break and the places I visited. So many people think I am brave for doing trips like this, but I think after reading this, you see how easy it really is. There is actually so little adventure, due in part to the travel guides that make it very easy. But I’m just happy to visit new places, meet new people, try new foods. Easy, but enjoyable. Now I have a week to sleep it off and rest up for the new school year starting next week. It came so quickly. But four of my six classes will be the same students continuing a two year class from last year, and that should make it much easier right from the start. Looking forward to a good year. And planning new vacations – October and December, I’m looking at you!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



6th August 2015

Another summer vacation come and gone....
You really are adventurous and your itinerary was amazing. You've pretty much been to all of Europe, so now you'll have to teach on another continent. I've enjoyed following your romp, and look forward to October and Decembers offerings.

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb