Sighiosoara


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Transilvania
August 2nd 2015
Published: August 4th 2015
Edit Blog Post

August 2, 2015 – After an early wake up this morning, I had some breakfast and finished packing. I walked to the bus station, taking a couple more pictures along the way. Took the bus to the train station and found Erick, and we sat for a few minutes before the train came. Our seats were in different train cars, so I went to find my seat when the train pulled in. I was in a compartment with a man, his daughter and his elderly mother. It was a compartment for 6, and for most of the time, grandma slept and snored on three of the seats, and we sat on the others. We didn’t talk, so I just read my book and caught up in my journal. He went out sometimes to chat on the phone or smoke this ecigarette, in the hall, in front of the closed window. Gross. It still amazes me that people smoke at all, but it Europe it’s still so popular. And in this summer vacation, it’s allowed in most restaurants. Got to Sighiosoara at 11:15am and then went to change the other half of my ticket for tomorrow, which proved to be quite easy. Erick and I then walked up into the citadel, where the old town is located, and found our guesthouse. There are only three of us staying in the dorm tonight, and I expect this place to be much quieter. The town is small, and many travelers take day trips here and don’t stay. It is not a party town and there are no large roads nearby. It should be pretty perfect.

Once settled, we ate some lunch – just pasta. My stomach has been a little weird since yesterday, so I’m keeping an eye on that (apparently by eating pasta with cream and bacon). Spent a few hours walking around, taking pictures of this very scenic town. Then ended up at the grocery store to buy some breakfast and food for the train tomorrow. Came back and relaxed a bit, skyped with Jeroen, and then it was time to get some dinner, which ended up being pizza. It was a decent place, but we sat outside and there was so much smoke from cigarettes it was quite unpleasant. Headed off in a hurry to a free quartet concert in the city hall, part of a special two weeks of free music. It was a combination of Romanian and Swiss musicians, in a joint project. Tonight was the Arcadia Quartet, and they were very good. We arrived too late to get a seat, so we stood, but it was really nice. And they are internationally well known, from the town I am going to tomorrow. It was a nice treat and a good way to end the day.

Back at the hostel, I met Steve, an American living in Barcelona. He was the other person in the dorm. I boiled some eggs for the train ride, skyped with my mom, and then talked to the guys a bit. We all went to sleep at the same time AND Erick gave me a pair of much better earplugs, as he brought several. It was such a good dorm experience! Everyone quiet at the same time is a brilliant, revolutionary way to sleep in a dorm, and then ear plugs just made it better. I couldn’t even hear my feet moving in the sheets. Such a nice treat.


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Where Vlad grew upWhere Vlad grew up
Where Vlad grew up

Now a restaurant


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 8; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb