Viata la tara/ Life in the countryside


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Muntenia » Dambovita » Gaesti
August 23rd 2009
Published: August 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

My parents live in a small town and I visit them frequently. I grew up here. I remember how badly I wanted to escape this small town and couldn't wait to finish high-school so that I could move to a big city and feel free. I thought freedom meant leaving this small town behind, the almost desperate desire to feel estranged from it and everything it represented: narrow-mindedness, boredom, lifelessness, motionless time... Now, after so many years, I love coming back here. I simply love it. It's true when they say 'There's no other place like home'. Instead of the boredom I once loathed and tried to escape, now I see peacefullness and serenity. Instead of narrow-mindedness, what I find now is a traditional, simple, uncomplicated life-style and healthy thinking..

It's so quiet and peaceful here, my folks have a nice patio behind the house, and they're also trying to put together a green-house. We have great evenings outside, chatting away under the still, quiet sky. It's funny how years pass and they shape you into a different you. I know I would never live here, but I enjoy being here when I come visit. I love the peaceful, quiet life-style, with no big fuss or drama. I feel home, like nothing bad could ever happen to me here. It's a great get-away place, someone once said that in this world we all need at least one place where we can run and hide when the world around us is tumbling down. For me, this is this small little town where my old and dear parents live.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 34; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb