Bucharest


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Muntenia » Bucharest
August 28th 2007
Published: August 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The trip took a total of 13 flight hours with an hour layover at JFK but the hours flew by quickly. First class to Europe is definitely the way to go and I can see why some people (you know who you are) refuse to travel unless they get first class. Too many upgrades to mention, but the biggest advantage was a fully reclining leather seat in which I actually was able to sleep for several hours with a mask over my eyes and a noise cancelling headset playing ocean waves over my ears. I feel already adjusted to the time change, which is odd considering it's a 9 hour time difference from Utah but I guess it helps that I didn't sleep much before I left.

Once at the airport I boarded a public bus ($2) into the city (30 minutes away) to a busy intersection where an internet cafe was advertised on the side of a building. Len (my new cyclist friend from Bucharest) had sent information on where to find the bike shop, but I didn't print it before I left. While at the internet cafe I met Stefan from Miami, who is Romanian but is here on holiday visiting his family. He spent the next few hours with me making sure I found what I was looking for and then made sure I found my hostel. We passed over several taxis until we found one that would not overcharge and the entire trip around the city looking for the bike shop and then the hostel was just under $10. Stefan told me he had received help from people when he arrived in Miami unable to speak any English and that he was making sure to repay the good deed others had done for him. I am usually very careful not to speak to strangers in foreign countries, but in Stefan's case I could tell right away he was genuine. When you know, you know....right? I can tell we'll be friends for a long time. Oh, and by the way, it doesn't hurt that he's drop dead gorgeous! Shelley this is just another one of the many reasons why you should be with me on these trips! 😊

Another couple staying in the hostel are touring Romania by bike as well. It was really fun to walk into the hostel and find their bikes leaning up against the wall. I think they are from Germany.

There are a lot of people staying here (Butterfly Villa) including two Americans from New Jersey and California. Everyone just welcomes everyone else into their little groups and last night when I walked up onto the terrace on the roof, the guys said "Grab a glass and pour yourself a beer!" I did, even though I was the only girl up there and we all shared our stories about where to go, where to stay and what to do.

I found a bike I like and will purchase it in the morning. It's ready to go so most likely once I've packed, I will be too.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



29th August 2007

HAVE FUN!!
Hey Debbie hope you have a great time. I think Im in the wrong business. Thanks Perry
2nd September 2007

Sweet!!!
I am so glad to hear you are having fun!!! You were looking forward to this trip so much and it is nice to see that it is working out. Keep us posted on your travels and adventures! We are with you!! :)

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.042s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb