Lady says ouch!


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal
May 29th 2011
Published: May 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, we expected an adventure and certainly found one today. We knew that we needed to head down to the river and follow that road west. Somehow, however, we ended up north, way north, much farther north than we thought we could possibly be. After consulting with a couple of cyclists, we rejected their advice and found our way back to the river. The road was busy but bikeable.
A few kilometers later, a taxi driver apparently did not see Bill's bright orange shirt or my lime green shirt. He turned right in front of me. I saw him coming but could not get out of the way quickly enough. Consequently, I hit his right side mirror and tumbled over. I fell softly, no injury to my body, but Lady Liberty has suffered the indignity of a broken front shifting lever.
At this point, I figured the driver was long gone, but lo and behold, a few minutes later the man returned with a policeman. Okay, I don't speak Portuguese and neither of these guys speak English, but I completed the accident report and have been told that when I get the bike fixed, I should mail the bill to the taxi insurance company and will be reimbursed. See, I told you that each day is a new adventure.
So here I sit this evening in the home of Tine and Kiko. Tine is from England and is a professional acrobat. Kiko is Portuguese and owns a small bike shop. (If you remember, yesterday's word was "fortuitous." How fortutitous is it that our hosts this evening have bicycle repair skills and know where we can, hopefully, get Lady fixed tomorrow?)
We arrived here around 1 p.m. Don't know how far we biked cause I forgot to set my cyclometer. But we were given a very warm welcome and a shower. Then Tine took us for a beautiful walk along the beach where families were enjoying the Sunday afternoon. We stopped at a cafe for a snack and a grocery store for some food. At this point, I'm not sure where we are headed for tomorrow, but I'm hoping that it's not quite as adventurous as today.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.24s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb