Harry Potter, con Portugal!


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Northern » Porto
September 4th 2013
Published: September 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Cooling necessitiesCooling necessitiesCooling necessities

One of the vineyards we visited in the Douro valley yesterday, helping to keep me cool today! See even I can drink white on occasion.
What a great day so far, Porto is quickly becoming my fav city I've seen in this country! It's still a big city, but had a great 'old town' a neat UNECSO residential area and some truly magnificent buildings.

Starting off the day with a 09:00 start helped my mood I'm sure, despite the fact I woke up around 06:30! Had a lazy lie in, got one blog done, then breakfast and away we went with our local guide Fatima. We went to the former stock exchange building, nothing I would have gone to on my own and I would have so missed out. No photos allowed inside, but what a truly spectacular building. Each room had a different in laid wood flooring pattern, different materials for the roof and walls, and stunning. I am not one to be impressed by 'bling' but one room had a ceiling that was hand carved stucco, with different roses, leafs, etc. and painted with gold foil, it was impressive. The floors were the most amazing, shame no photos allowed but its an active government building now. Check out the website for photos if interested: http://www.palaciodabolsa.pt/en/palacio-da-bolsa/tourism/rooms-of-the-palace

Then we wandered down to the lazy
Sensational viewsSensational viewsSensational views

240 steep steps to the top for panoramic views and I paid for it!
river front in the famous Ribeira a residential area with shops, restaurants etc. But what makes it so interesting is that the government has rent control on the area, so some people literally pay $2euros, however it is getting run down, but if the residents do renos then they lose the rent control so bit of a conundrum. But Unesco Made it a heritage site in 1996 so now they are trying to slowly restore it, estimating about 40 years.

After crossing the Luis II bridge, we want to the most famous Port producers: Sandeman. Received a great guided tour of facilities with, surprise! Port tasting at the end. I didn't think I was a port drinker, but learned with the right one I could be. What impressed me the most was instead of letting us sample their cheaper products, we were given the 10 year old tawny (which I quite liked) and their vintage e reserve, which most people preferred. I chose to bring home a nice bottle of red wine, here's hoping its as good as theie port! http://www.sandeman.eu/visitus/porto/en if interested.

Holy this is getting long! (see what happens when A: I'm excited, and B: actually
Harry Potter.....Harry Potter.....Harry Potter.....

Livraria Lello, one of the worlds most beautiful bookstores that inspired JK Rowling's store in her series
blog right after an experience?

So, the best part for me? Of course the wandering alone. I love group travel, for new friends, comfort, security and just having someone take the hassle out of planning and transportation. But I love alone time, and today had a full afternoon to explore. What I didn't know is that JK Rawling (Harry Potter author) lived in Porto and wrote her first novel at the Majestic Cafe, now a tourist icon. So of course I went for a cafe carioka there, followed by a trip to the bookstore that also inspired the one in the books. It may have taken me 3 times around the area (literally) to find it, but saw cool things along the way. The bookstore is unreal, and no photos allowed. But bought an overpriced fridge magnet, and an English book and spent a long time browsing the Portugese books just to soak the atmosphere in. Trust me google an image search or check this out: http://www.portosweethome.com/the-most-beautiful-bookshop-livraria-lello/

And the clothes they wear at Hogwarts was also inspired by the University students here, so we all snapped photos of them (they are used to it by now and pose),
RibeiraRibeiraRibeira

The UNESCO residential area of Porto
so,it was neat to see Porto and how she created so many images for the series by looking through her eyes, so to speak.

I did heaps of wandering up and down and up and down the hills, Porto is almost as hilly as SFO! Strolled through parks, checked out old buildingthe paid $2 euros to climb the 240 steps to the tower of Torres del Clerigos for spectacular views. Then off to the photography museum and slowly meandered my way back in the 35 degree heat to the hotel. a good friend suggested I drink a glass of vino verde to cool off, little does he know we went to a vineyard yesterday and I bought a bottle, which I'm sipping on as we speak, in air conditioning!

Off to do a Douro River cruise this evening, followed by dinner, should be a blast. Trust me, if you ever make it to Portugal, the Algarve and Porto are definitely must sees!

DISCLAIMER: yes these photos are blantently stolen from the web, as no I don't have my helicopter and private pilot with me for arial views! all mine are on my camera until I get home....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb