Home for a visit!


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Northern » Porto
July 21st 2006
Published: July 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone!

After being too tired to do much I decided to quit my tutoring and my weekend classes and I am no longer a money making machine. It didn't last long and I knew that my desire of making a lot a lot of money wasn't enough to make me work those hours. So now I am content earning a lot of money but not a lot a lot...

I have now finished teaching for this year and hae been allocated these 3 weeks of holidays to do material development and preparation for next year. However, on the last day of teaching, which was Friday, I rang Air France on the off chance that they would tell me they had an available seat to fly home so I could see my family. I had been trying for several months and the response was always the same - everything is booked and waiting lists are closed. Imagine my amazement when they said they had one seat available the following day! I hurried home to pack, changed my ticket and paid a small fortune, shopped for souvenirs then went for a celebratory Long Island Ice Tea! the following day Briony and I went shopping again and then I left for the airport. I decided I didn't want to tell anyone that I was coming over so it was surprise time for everyone when I pulled up at home after 26 hours of travelling! I had been missing home for a while and this was the best time to come over as all of my family is here. Today is my brother's birthday - so happy birthday Joao -

I had a wee problem when I got here as I had no return ticket and I had already found out that the only available flight was in Buisness class and would cost me 4000 Euros! It seems flights from major European capital cities to Bangkok are extremely popular! I have now managed to get myself a ticket and I am leaving on the 25th with Cathay Pacific so quite excited about trying out a new airline 😊

I have been experiencing slight culture shock - I'm used to waking up early and shops and places being opened, which doesn't happen here and I end up killing a lot of time on the internet (like right now...), some of the food has given me some stomach trouble and I cannot believe the prices for everything! And although I am happy to be home, I am looking forward to going back too.

Once again, no photos but I am hoping this will all change when I buy a camera in my duty free travels! And anyway, I have such a severe problem with acne right now that I wouldn't want to put you off your dinner! I'm off to see the dermatologist for the 2nd time to see if they can chop off my head - here's hoping!

Hope everyone is ok and just want to say a huge CONGRATULATIONS to Lucy who is now married and is Mrs. Arkell!

Take care,

love Rooj xxx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 16; qc: 59; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb