For Whatever Reason....


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Northern » Porto
March 14th 2011
Published: March 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Maria ordered me a special request Muslim meal for my midair dinner. She likely figured this would flag me as suspect
and hustle me into some full body search and scan at the hands of the Border Patrol. Such is the sense of humour
posessed by my dear missus.

There was some real confusion on the part of the attendant as she offered me the platter, to be sure. I just smiled and took what was given me. I considered asking which direction Mecca lay so I could unfurl my prayer rug at the appropriate hour, but I reconsidered and decided I best not confuse matters any more than neccessary.

Worst of all, I feared that my designation might make it hard to order a glass of wine. The staff soon realized that I was not exactly devout. A second glass was proffered and I dare say that I detected a note of sympathy in the exchange.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb