Take a stroll with me around SANTA CATARINA PARK


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Madeira » Funchal
April 25th 2018
Published: April 25th 2018
Edit Blog Post

An easy day today !

On my tick list this trip - Santa Catarina Park

All previous visits to Funchal have either been in Winter time or we have been out & about around the island so today was an ideal time to have a stroll around the park.

It is a public holiday today (Revolution Day) & a huge cruise ship is in port so I was surprised that the park was not busier. It was quite early so I'm guessing the locals were enjoying a lie-in & the cruisers their breakfast on board.

I entered the park next to the Presidential Palace Gardens, the gates of the park were closed so it was not open to the public today. Something else to add to my tick list for another day!

The lake was gleaming in the sunshine as the ducks & swans enjoyed the food given by some passers by.

I have seen better laid out gardens in other countries, nevertheless it was still an enjoyable stroll and the views were great, although I didn't bother to photograph the cruise ship moored just across from the park!

There was a statue of Christopher Colombus, a couple of old steam vehicles, plenty of places to sit and while away an hour or two. The children's play area was busy but I avoided this part of the park.

I continued to meander the various paths admiring all the beautiful plants, then came across some steps heading down to the promenade, I checked with a couple who had just climbed up to make sure this was also a way out (Didn't fancy climbing all the way back up again).

Making my way down, I spotted a butterfly who was obviously happy to stay put & pose for a photo.

The rock face continued to delight with beautiful plants and by now the cruisers, tourists & locals were all out & about.

It's a pleasant walk back to the hotel, the promenade is always busy. There is one wider section that is full of small vehicles selling drinks and snacks as well as cafes with their onion shaped kiosks but I didn't stop for coffee today but headed back to meet David at the hotel.

The keeper of 'Sunshine' our residential Harris hawk was happy to chat to passers by & what is it they say about owners looking like their pets - check out the photo.

A light lunch was enjoyed in the hotel garden followed by an afternoon in the shade for me as it was hotter than I thought yesterday and my face is looking rather rosy !!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.514s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb