Evening walk


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
July 30th 2007
Published: June 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Out the window01 Out the window01 Out the window

The view out of my hostel window, many buildings are decorated in tiny, colourful tiles.
Geo: 38.7072, -9.13552

This morning I walked to the bus station and waited for my bus. About four hours later I arrived in Lisbon, the capital of Portugal. As the bus came into the city we crossed the river Tejo on the Vasco da Gama bridge, which is 17.2km long- that is a very long bridge! Vasco da Gama was an explorer who found a sea route from Lisbon to India. The city sits on seven hills, which have old trams running up and down. After checking into the hostel, I went for a walk around town. Nearby is the Praca do Comercio, a well known plaza that I walked through. In the middle is an equestrian statue of Dom Jose I, three sides of the plaza are government buildings and the Arco da Victoria- which leads to the Rua Augusta, a pedestrian only shopping street.
I walked along Rua Augusta, along here there were many well known UK clothing stores. On my little walk, I saw some of the city's landmarks, churches, castle, elevator and squares. Over the next few days I would get a chance to check these out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

02 Arco da Victoria02 Arco da Victoria
02 Arco da Victoria

The arch that leads to Rua Augusta.
03 Dom Jose I03 Dom Jose I
03 Dom Jose I

The staute of a man on a horse in the middle of the plaza.
04 Church04 Church
04 Church

The church towers in the background.
05 Arco da Victoria05 Arco da Victoria
05 Arco da Victoria

Looking through the arch towards the statue.
06 Elevator06 Elevator
06 Elevator

The elevator that was designed by a student of Eiffel- the man who designed the Eiffel Tower.
07 Castle07 Castle
07 Castle

The castle of St George on the hill.
08 Remains08 Remains
08 Remains

The remains of a gothic style church.
09 Colulmn09 Colulmn
09 Colulmn

Not too sure who this.
10 Castle10 Castle
10 Castle

Castle at the top of the hill.
11Metro11Metro
11Metro

Entrance to the metro.
12 Tram12 Tram
12 Tram

A tram going through the Praco do Comerico.


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb