Not again!


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
July 5th 2006
Published: July 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I woke up at 5:30am with - a swollen lip! (That is #8). Half of my bottom lip was swollen, worse than what it was the first time. I woke my sister up but we were both at a loss as to what to do. It was starting to get ridiculous! I stayed in bed until close to 11:30am purely out of embarassment. Luckily, I wasnt the only one having problems. The South African's bedbug bites were all getting infected. Angele found a British Hospital close to our hostel that had english speaking doctors. The three of us, plus the south African and his 2 friends all went there together. I ended up getting some sort of medication for allergic reactions and send on my way. At least it was something.
We didnt want to waste our entire day so we hopped onto the train to Sintra. Sintra has a moorish castle as well as another fairytale looking castle. But both were right out of fairytale books. The moorish castle was in ruins, and only part of the wall still exist that you could walk on. But much of it was overgrown with forest, which gave it a magical quality. You got breathtaking views of the valley below as you walked along the wall. The other castle at the top of the mountain was fully furnished. The outside had so much color and many staircases and doors leading to all sorts of secret places where you could hide, or sit and look at the view. There was even a beautiful garden where you could relax and enjoy tea, but we had no time as we had to catch the last bus down to the train station...or we would be walking a hell of a long way! Sintra was our favorite place in Portugal.

Amie

Advertisement



22nd July 2006

Atleast the day ended well!!
Well, atleast you can now talk about another European hospital. how did this one compare to Spain? The day sounded like it ended well. Hoping this means things will start to get better for you. Cheers, Cathy
22nd July 2006

Feel better!
Well, you have had some unfortunate events! I am glad to hear you found some help! Keep thinking of fun!! FUN!! And for Angele: Kinya gets to come back to Canada! (update complete!) Keep the postings going! its good to hear you guys are meeting people and seeing wonderful things!
22nd July 2006

Hey Amie
Hey Amie, I just wanted to say Hey and to let you know that I love your blogs and I am so jealous. Sounds like you are having the trip of a lifetime. Other than your current unfortunate events that seem to be cropping up. You will look back later and laugh. Hang in there girlie! You have a biking tour to look forward to. Just wanted to let you know as well, Shane and I got married in Whistler on the 1st of July. I will email you pictures once you get home. Anyways, have a great time and a drink for me and I will keep thinking of you touring while I sit at my desk. (not bitter at all! hee hee) Ciao, Bon

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb