Lost in Lisbon


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
July 3rd 2006
Published: July 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, my lip was all better, and I thought everything was ok.... until I woke up and discovered that I could barely open my eye. (Unfortunate Event #5) - Half my face was swollen. My right eye would barely open and my lip was slightly drooping. Luckily I could cover most of it up with sunglasses and hair. Even more lucky that the only thing our day consisted of was sitting on a bus to Lisbon. And, to be completely honest, I was almost ready to come home at this point. I really did not feel like dealing with it anymore, the moving, the swelling, all the bad stuff! But, if that wasnt bad enough...(Unfortunate event #6) - We got to the bus station in Lisbon and realized that we had lost our directions to the hostel. We didnt even have an address or phone number. One of the Metro workers was really nice and she told us how to get to the tourist office. However they were no help as they only had the address to one youth hostel. They directed us to the post office for internet and after standing in line for half an hour we were told that the internet was broken. The girl at the post office was nice though and directed us to the internet cafe that she used to go to down the street. But it wasnt that simple. After walking around for another 15 minutes we´d had enough. We called our mom collect to get the directions off an email we had sent her. (See, moms are always there, even if you are halfway accross the world!) We got to our hostel and that on its own was such a relief. We even met a couple of South Africans in the lounge and watched Family Guy, The Movie, with them.
My friend Reesa from Canada was scheduled to meet us at the hostel, but her flight didnt come in until 11:05pm. I was worried as the hostel was a bit difficult to find from the Metro station. Luckily she just took a cab and arrived safe and sound at 11:45pm. I had dozed off, but had never been so happy to see someone! It was so comforting to have another familiar face around, especially after all the crap that had happened in the last few days. She had been traveling in Morocco with her boyfriend for just under 2 weeks before she met up with us. We were all exhausted so it was bedtime after that.

Amie

Advertisement



22nd July 2006

Did I miss something?
I dont know if i missed a blog somewhere or not BUT WHAT HAPPENED TO YOUR FACE? WHY IS IT SWOLLEN? I am terribly confused. Hope things get better for you. LOVE YOU, Cheers, Cathy
23rd July 2006

Seriously!!! Could you guys have any more bad luck. Amie, if I was there and that happened to me, I'd being feeling pretty mortified too. I hope you're face is better. Did you seek any medical attention yet? Good thing Atepooo is there for you!

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0839s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb