At Home..Part II


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
March 5th 2006
Published: March 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well here I am again, and let me tell u all about the lousy night I had. My son developed a high grade fever late last afternoon, and so I moved him into my bedroom for the night...hehee. Dear hubby was posted off to Nadines room, erm but he was ok with it..at least me thinks so lol. Well to cut a long evening short today I am funcioning like a zoombie:=)

Like I promised let me post here a great recipe that I cooked for the Family last night.

Bacalhau Recipe
Another Portuguese lesson. Bacalhau is cod fish.

1 lb. of salt cod ( most times found in little wooden boxes)U can also use the frozen type.
5 to 6 large potatoes
2 large onions, sliced
1 green peppers, sliced into slivers
3 hard-boiled eggs, sliced
4 cloves of garlic
black olives, those sliced ones are real good
black pepper to taste
2 tablespoons of parsley, chopped fine if fresh
1 tablespoon of vinegar or the juice of one lemon( I prefer the vinegar)

Soak cod fish overnight. Boil the cod fish the next day in unsalted water for 15 min. Flake fish and set aside. Boil potatoes, slice and set aside. Slice onion, peppers, crush garlic and sauté in olive oil. In large casserole add a layer as follows, potatoes, then fish, sliced hard-eggs, onion, peppers , garlic. Sprinkle olives and parsley. Pour olive oil over the entire casserole. Cover and bake at 350 degrees for a 1/2 hour in a 3 qt. casserole dish. Serves around 6.

By: http://www.portuguese-recipes.com


I remember when I was little I used to hate this dish now I love it and so do the kids😊



Advertisement



22nd July 2006

Bacalhau Recipe
This recipe is a copy of mine. Please check it out here http://www.portuguese-recipes.com/Bacalhau%20Recipe.htm If your going to keep it on this site please add my web address to it http://www.portuguese-recipes.com Thanks, Gil Sequira Webmaster

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0895s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb