Lisbon


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Lisbon
December 31st 2008
Published: January 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone! First to address the never ending question about photos....first I don´t have a lot of time to upload photos...the computers are kind of slow, and I have a lot to upload. When I get back home, I can do it. Just now I would rather update people...get back to them and then continue my adventure.

Internet was way expensive in Lisbon...so now I am typing from Porto.

The day started with a bus tour of Lisbon. This was really neat. We went down to the Belem area where we saw the Tower of Belem, a really cool discovery monument. We crossed a bridge that was designed by the same person who did the Golden Gate Bridge so it looked familiar. We stopped and went into the Monastery of St. Jerome. That was really beautiful. It was raining very hard this morning. My seat mate was from Brasil...Silena and she had bought an umbrella and shared with me so that was sweet of her. Although she spoke Portuguese and I spoke Spanish and English we got our meanings across. We also drove past the Palace of the King.

Then we went to a coach museum. That was cool...it was a collection of royal coaches ... most of which were only used once. They had a lot of gold leaf on them. That was neat. Then we were back on the bus and went to Alfama...this was the oldest burrow of Lisbon. The streets were very similar to those in Morocco. Then the tour was over.

Being the good daughter that I am, I took a walk to the Hard Rock Cafe and got my mom and I our pins. I then called my parents. That was funny...dad was tired but when I said Happy New Year he perked up 😊

I walked back and decided to check out a movie at the theater across the street. That was neat. It was in English with subtitles. They don´t have the same releases. I saw The Day the Earth Stood Still. I wanted to see Despareux BUT kids movies are translated. It was an okay movie...fun to see. The popcorn here comes with sugar on it...not butter and salt. It was different but good.

I had dinner at a different hotel. The restaurant I wanted to go to was rude telling me they didn´t open until 8 BUT there were no signs posted, how was I to know? SO I had a great buffet. The cold items were awesome: shrimp, FRESH mozzarella....Kath like just barely cold.... YUMMY! Then there was a carrot salad, a peas one, one with lots of sprouts. The hot food was beef tenderloin wrapped in bacon, cod, lobster tail (which was dry) and turkey. The sides were good too....potatoes, risotto, veg.

The dessert was the best part. I tried almost like a flan but it was in a pastry cup...very good. White chocolate mousse WITH a truffle in it. That was delicious. Deep fried goodness...like a donut and the best part was.... TIRAMISU!!! It was different then Il Ritrovo´s or Cucina BUT it was fantastic. This meal was very good and a nice New Years Eve gift.

Then I went back and packed then went to bed...at like 10. I did see the New Years from Australia and Hong Kong on TV so I was good. 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb