Great week-end in Lisbon


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisboa
November 29th 2012
Published: November 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I already knew Lisbon, but decided to come back beacuase I'm really fashinated by this Capital.

EasyJet it's a great opportunity flying from Barcelona, I paid just 89,00euros way and return: thu. to sun. really good also for the timing because I arrived at 4pm and in an hour I was checking-in in Beach Destination Hostel, just in the heart of Lisbon and well comunicated with Sintra, Alfama and Belem. They managed for me the transfert from the airport and at 6pm I was drinking a coffe in Chado...Last year in Lisbon I've sleeped in Alfama Patio Hostel, but this time it was full and they raccomeded-me the new hostel of the company. Well that was a great tip! this place is located in the top floor of a train station, completely renovated with vintage fornitures and keeping original wood floors. I was super-curious about this location (queit and noiseless although part of the station), and talking with the manager she said-me is the 2nd of a new generation hostels in "courious" and historical lacations, high comfort standards, good value for money and flexibles services for individual and young travellers.

The 2nd day I visited Belem: the monastery is alsways a must, definitelly the best expression of Manueline architectonic style, the Tour of Belem is unmissable (not that easy to find actually, you need to take the underpass in front of the Monastery and then walk 15 minutes on the right, not many signs unfortunatelly); then for me something that´s make sense to do is spend 15 minutes in line in the famous pastries of the area to try the "pastel of Belem": super-secret recip cake of Lisbon! That friday I went out, the Lisbon night-life is queit famous and as the Beach Destination Hostel is 5 min walking to Barrio Alto, well, I can say I had a fanny night with Hélén and Mike, French and Canadian room mate in the hostel.



Saturday morning is always full in Lisbon for me: Feria da Ladra, the cheapest flea-market I ever been. It's up on the district of Alfama, I'm use to get there queit early in the morning to have the best offerts and for what I heard it's not the only one of the week, there should be market also on tuesday. As I was in Alfama I've got the opportunity for a "bacalhao a braz" in Ti-Naterza, a lovely tipical restaurant runned by a lady, I was really luky: the restaurant has 3 tables and one of theme it was free....restaurant is in Rua Escola Gerais, just in front of a stop of the "tram eletrico", nothing better for a sightseeing tour in from Alfama to Cementerio dos Prazeres passing though all Lisbon up and down all the hills. After that I just had energy for another very good dinner (I love portuguise couisine), in the hostel this time: they manage a 4 course meal dinner every night, wine is included and it's just for 8euros!

Sunday, time over unfortunatelly...back to Barcelona, but Lisbon was great as always and the new hostel I found was really something of new generation!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb