Lisbon, Portugla and Cordoba, Spain...in 48 hours?!


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisboa
November 23rd 2010
Published: November 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

PortugalPortugalPortugal

This is the side of my body splashed by the puddle!!
Last Thursday November 18 until Friday the 19 I ventured to Lisbon, Portugal...for the night. I went with my friend Stephanie. We met in the airport, this time there was plenty of to get to the airport. Luckily I brought some of my work so I could get it done. But anyways, our flight was at 6:15, and its an hour and a half flight, but with the time difference I was in Portugal by 6:30. We had to go through a custom check, and I was sure to ask about getting my passport stamped but unfortunately they don't do that from Spain. So we worked our way through the airport to figure out how to catch a bus to the hostel. We found the "aerobus" and hoped on and it took us downtown to where our hostel was located. Lisbon is truly beautiful at night with all the statues lit up and its right next to a GIANT river, that I thought was the ocean but clearly I was mistaken.

So, we walk around a bit before we try to find out hostel, which in the end was quite the process. We walked around along a major road for a bit, making a few turns, and apparently so close that the taxi drivers would just tilt their heads and say "that way." either way it took us ages to find this place, that was literally a hole in the wall. We had to buzz to get into the metal door and then walk up a flight of wooden stairs to the reception that 100% smelt like mothballs. yummy. Luckily we had our own room, which smelt like mothballs, and had a mini balcony close to the other balcony and right above the street. But, it wasn't that bad at all. So we put down our things and booked it to find some grub. We came across a small restaurant and we got vino verde, which tasted so much like champaign, swordfish, salad, bread, and some stuff that looked like croquettas. SO DELICIOUS! but after this point it was close to 11 and so we decided to head back and chat for a little bit before going to bed.

The next day we opened up the windows to find, it was raining. Either way we got outr things together and set out to explore Lisbon for the day. We were walking to the public bus, where a bus flying by treads through a massive puddle, and like in the movies, I am right under where the puddle falls. I get more wet than I already was from the rain. We literally started cracking up because something like this only happens in movies! Anyways, we hope on the bus and work our way up towards the main sectors of town. We stop and get a few things and postcards and decide to go to the Castle of Saint George, and it was a wonderful decision. Luckily the rain had stopped and although the view wasn't clear we could still see the water and the houses. Very pretty. We also met a Madrid couple, oder there. She was decked out in high quality clothes and he had a camera that probably valued around 3.000 buckeroos. Anywas we talked to them for a while, they had lived in New York for 25 years and do lots of traveling. We kept running into them from there on out, and as we were leaving the castle she comes up to us and asks us: Quereis tomar un cafe, un te, una leche...algo? She invited us to have tea with them!! How nice. Unfortuntaley we were on a tight schedule so we graciously declined and worked our way to the metro to find our way to the Oceanarium...or in other words...one of the greatest aquariums!!

So we find our way to the aquarium and find that its pouring, but no matter because its all indoors. Also, apparently Obama was in town and happened to be IN THIS AREA, so all the roads we wanted to take were of course blocked off. We were hoping to catch him and grab a burger but alas, we didn't find him. Either way we found our way to the aquarium and had a blast. it was a really nice place with lots to see and very organized. they had a fish called the sun fish where it swims basically on its side! And I also saw the CLEANEST penguin display ever. Lots of otters, a giant octopus, birds,, sharks, jellwyfish, frogs, reallycool frogs actually, and lots of things. we spent a long time there and then headed to the airport and got there to find out that our flight would be delayed. we waited about two hours hoped on the plane and got to Madrid by 1130. We booked it to the metro before it closed, and lucky for steph she could take the metro all the way back home, but for some reason at 1:15 am, the metro stopped working and told everyone to get off the metro because they were going to change cars. I waited 15 minutes to hear that I would have to wait another 15 minutes for the metro to be back and working. I don't think so. I left the stop and caught a taxi. It was only 10 euros but it got me back to the house by 145 which was a lot better than getting in at 230. So by the time i got organized and fell asleep it was about 3 am. My Portuguese adventures had ended. Next adventure...Cordoba...in exactly...2 hours....

Alarm goes off at 5 am. I get up and shower and eat breakfast and head to the metro at 630 to meet Suzanne to get to the bus station at 730 am to meet the group to take the AVE train to Cordoba at 8. So awesome that I got to ride the AVE!! like a dream come true. Anyways, I slept on the train, though for a short time, and then we got to Cordoba, where it was freezing and rainy. So we walk to the Mosque and spent a lot of time there. It was really cool to see, though so cold inside. It was neat to see the change in structures and decoration from Islam to Catholicism. And then there was a hint of Judaism through the city as well. A mix of the three. So after spending some time here we walked through the city walls. It reminded me both of Toledo and Morocco the way things were built and organized, brought back many memories of nearly two months ago. I cannot believe it! So we checked out one of the 4 oldest synagogues in the world and then after that we had some free time. Suzanne, Molly, Kristine, and I went to a tea lounge, that again reminded me of Morocco, but no matter it had tea and warmth and we got some yummy food. We spent just about 2 hours just sitting and talking and relaxing. It was so great and the tea was delicious! we tried mint, cinnamon and something else herbaly. definitley warmed us up!

After this we walked to an old Jewish home and recieved a tour of it and concluded with traidicional music. It was very interesting. But as the day was long, we were heading back to the train station. The time took longer to get back to Madrid because we didn't take the AVE back, but it was okay. I got back to the apartment at 930, just in time for some warm soup, futbol on the tv and to do some work before falling fast asleep. What a weekend already...and it was only Saturday!

Sunday I got to sleep in until a good hour. I got to do some work, enjoy breakfast and watch Rex, a tv series about an investigation dog. A little bit later, Any's friend came over and before 12 noon, i had a glass of wine in my pjs. Oh the lifestyle of the Europeans. But after I got showered and situated I did a little bit of work and then headed back out to meet up with Suzanne at 5. A few people in the group decided to get to together and see HARRY POTTER!!!! It was wonderful. We all met in center at the oso, and made our way to the theater. It was neat! We all had our assigned seats, and pretty good spots and all for 8 euros. Suzanne and I also split some popcorn because we hadn't had it in ages and it was one of the best decisions of the day. The movie lasted for good rate of time and then we all returned home to start our final week of classes.

I can't believe this week is my last week of classes. Just as everything seems to be falling together its time to leave! But I am ready. I miss home a lot and though I love it here in Spain I am ready to be back in my home sweet home. So, for many of you, I will see you soon because I am home next weekend! Love you all and thank you so much!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb