Lisbon 2007


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisboa
December 1st 2007
Published: April 11th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I often do crazy weekend trips and my trip to Lisbon was no exception.

On Friday November 30, I headed out to Newark on Northwest and then caught a TAP Air Portugal Airbus 330 to Lisbon. I arrived into Lisbon at 5:30 am and within 30 minutes, I was on bus route 44 to downtown. The cost was 1.35 Euro. There is an airport express bus #91 but it does not start operating until 7:45 am. I walked all around the area near Praca do Comercio and Rua Augusta. I also walked up to Castelo Sao Jorge, which was a rough hike up hills and steps! At around 9 am, I took tram 15 to Belem so I could see the Torre de Belem. It was about a five minute walk from the Centro Cultural Belem stop to the Torre.

From there, I walked along the banks of the Tagus River to the Discoveries monument. I walked from there to the Pasteis de Belem shop which is located right on tram route 15 near the Mosteiro Jeronimos stop. I had my pasteis and coffee and then returned to Praca do Comercio. From there I walked up Rua Augusta to the Elevador Santa Justa for some views of the city. I spent the rest of the day walking around this whole area, including Rossio Square. I also took a bus over to the area near Oriente Station.

In the evening, I went to LIS Airport for my flight to Amsterdam. I stayed out all night in Amsterdam and then went to Schiphol Airport for the Northwest flight to Detroit. I arrived back in Indianapolis on Sunday afternoon.

I really liked Lisbon and I think it may be my new favorite city in Europe. The people are friendly, the food is good, and the climate is perfect.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb