Portugal: Aldi's Cottage Cheese


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Algarve
October 18th 2012
Published: July 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Sometimes you can be in a place for a long time and you spot things for the 1st time. I decided to go out for a drive to charge my car battery since it hasn't been driven in 3 days (it almost never started, bumba shiznit).

I get lost in Tavira and end up at a roundabout which I recognize as one I've driven past many times ... yet this time I spot an Aldi store.

I remember when living in Tooting, it was the same thing. Every week I'd spot a new store on that walk to the tube, even after 10 months. The way the mind filters information is fascinating ... you miss so much information out there when you aren't looking for it.

I was watching a program here in Tavira a few weeks back about this ... and one of the experiments performed on the public was this: The person goes up to a desk clerk in a hotel and asks for a form and a pen ... the desk clerk accidentally drops the pen, bends below the desk to pick it up and a different person gets up with the pen and says "here you are" and carries on as normal.

Most people didn't notice the switch ... even when the shirt color changed completely, a totally different person. When we aren't looking for something and don't expect certain changes in the world ... as far as we're concerned they don't happen.

Anywayz, I'm glad I found Aldi coz I now have cottage cheese for €0.59 a pot ... in Contente supermarket it was €3 for the pot so I treated myself to 1 a week ... it's gonna be 1 a day now ... too right.

The weather has switched here today all of a sudden ... 14 degrees outside and cloudy ... but it's all good as I'm inside watching Pocoyo and eating a spinach/cucumber/tsatsiki wrap ... and cottage cheese.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb