The Algarve! Inspiring Alvor...


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Algarve
January 21st 2008
Published: February 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

The beaches in the Algarve are so beautiful! No wonder why northern Europeans fall in love with this place and stay over.

I reached the south of Portugal after spending a week in Sevilla, where I was glad to see Rosa and her friends. I had driven as fast as I could through the Atlas towards Fez. Heavy snow up in the pass made the roads remain closed the day before. Snow was still pilled up on both sides of the road and my hands nearly froze as the temperature kept on 3'C for one hundred kilometres or so.
I spent a night in Fez which won't let me forget what Morocco is all about. A second hellish customs experience in Tager and I was so glad to leave Morocco behind! A night in Tarifa helped me to put my head together, and then Sevilla was bliss.
I stayed in the flat with Airam, a very nice guy from Tenerife. I ate a lot of pork to compensate for one month when that wasn't at all an option on the menu. I went out with Rosa, Diana, Tom and other friends and we saw a memorable flamenco show. I'm looking forward to seeing Rosa showing her flamenco skills next!

Portugal! Now, despite the northen European occupation sort of thing that happens on the Algarve as much as on the Spanish sea front, the south of Portugal is beautiful.

The coast is so dramatic, with breathtaking views of small sandy beaches where pointy rocks stick out of the blue water and amazing, bizarre rock shapes sit on golden sand, challenging the crashing waves, defying time. A multitude of caves, arches and holes on the rocks allow people to walk through stunning beaches at low tide. Just strolling along or crossing over the cliffs is an amazing experience. You can also try going through the holes on the rocks when the tide is rising: with water up to your knees, rush quickly before another wave licks you completly wet, before the sea crashes again on the crumbly rock...

Sitting on the porch of an abandoned beach hut at Praia do Alvor I listen to the waves, soak the sun, get in the pace of nature and have fantastic ideas... My eyes finding pleasure on the sand surface, an environment so different from the desert's dunes however again sand is a magical element... Once more, fascinating animal footprints. Minimalist. So trully unpretentious. I sit there and let good memories come back. Of people I love and things I value in life.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



2nd February 2008

beleza!
muito lindas as praias de Algarve. que boas aventuras heim menino? é como se eu estivesse ai com vc. muita saudade, beijos da mama.
2nd February 2008

carnival!
Hi gorgeous! Beautiful beaches! It´s carnival in Brasil now, but I guess you are not missing it. What will be the next port? Lovexxx
4th February 2008

I'd like to b one of those rocks so people can see through me and can be battered by the blue waves :-) I love the sea...
5th February 2008

London calling
Hey Jose, Good to see you are back in Europe safely and in warmer weather. All well with me in London but looking forward to warmer weather too. Where you heading off to in next few months? Take care and keep experiencing and sending msgs.. Callum x
13th February 2008

Hello again
Hey Jose, glad you're enjoying yourself again! Anything bad you experience always makes the good experiences much better I think! So it's all good :)

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb