Lagosed


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Algarve » Lagos
April 14th 2005
Published: April 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, originally I was only going to be here for 2 nights....really, I was. Then, I started hanging out at the beach, met a bunch of people, and next thing you know its 4 days later and I'm still here. I'm staying at this really great house that this woman from Lagos, Zelinda, owns. She's so friendly and helpful, it's great. There are a bunch of people from Canada here, and most of the Portuguese people speak English, so I've kinda been slacking with the real travel thing, but oh well. I've been eating lots of great Portuguese seafood dishes, and of course have discovered that 'free-pouring' drinks is not a good thing for me. The first night I went out here, this really nice bartender named Hugo ended up looking after me. We swapped some good work stories, with bartending being about as messy as nursing sometimes. I met up with a girl I met in Lisbon on the Sintra tour, James. She goes to Edinburgh Uni, but she's originally from Calgary. We did the grotto tour here, which is an amazing view of the coral and other sealife structures around the coast. Yesterday I took the bus out to Sagres for the day. I didn't make it to the 'most south-western point in Europe' but I saw it across the bay. The cliffs there are amazing, but it was really windy. I'm probably staying in Lagos until Sunday morning, since apparently Sevilla, which is next on my list, is crazy booked up because there's some circus or festival going on all week. Anyways, I can definitely see how all the people from around the world end up staying here for months at a time. I met a girl from Sherwood Park who was going to do the Europe travel trip thing too, but has ended up staying here until the end of August. She has a job at one of the little bars here. I don't think that's going to happen to me, but I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to relax in Portugal. Anyways, off to the beach again! TTYL

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb