I am officially lost in Lagos...


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Algarve » Lagos
October 12th 2009
Published: October 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My journey has taken an unexpected detour in Lagos. I've been here now for...let me see, what day is it? (At which time I google "calendar" and look up the date lol)...12 days! At first it was great...lying on a beach all day long, having tonnes of fun and meeting lots of new friends. I was having a blast! But 12 days later I'm starting to realize that just maybe these activities aren't exactly the best for me. Well, not really the activities so much as the place...It's a hard one to explain unless you've actually been here. The vibe pulls you in and doesn't let you go! It's a really small community so everyone knows everyone else, and everyone knows what everyone is up to and gossip is rampant. And because it's so small once you've been out here for a few nights your face is known and inevitably you run into people who you partied with the night before and your plan to take it easy goes flying out the window. I've started to question my own sanity lol. Remember how I pointed out that lots of people come here for a week and stay for a year? At first I thought that was just because everyone loves it here so much. But now I think that all roads lead back to Lagos, like in that movie where they keep trying to leave town and can never get out. I've planned on leaving now three separate times, but then the absolute beauty and wonderfulness of the place gets to me again...and in addition I often have some pretty wicked hangovers that leave me with little motivation to do...well, anything really, except for lie on a beach. Do you see the conundrum? Anyway, I'm planning on actually leaving on Wednesday to go to Sevilla in Spain. I think my soul needs a break from this place! However, I have this strange feeling that I might be back...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb